Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas


October 18, 2013


  Corsicana Chattanooga Glass Plant Reunion will be held Saturday, Oct. 26, 2013 beginning at 3 p.m. at Mildred Baptist Church gym, 5502 S. Hwy 287, across from Mildred Schools. The fellowship will begin at 3 p.m. followed by a barbecue dinner at 5:30 p.m. for $10 per plate. Auction and doorprizes will follow.

This reunion is for all employees, spouses, widows, and widowers from 1956 until closing of the plant. For more information contact Herman Marr at (903) 229-2190 or Richard Rash at (903) 874-3900.

G.W. Jackson Class of 1968 holds reunion

  The G.W. Jackson High School Class of 1968 held its 45th class reunion on Aug. 10, 2013 with a dinner at the Sirloin Stockade Restaurant in Corsicana.

  The high school was located on East Fifth Avenue (Martin Luther King Drive).

  Today the Boys & Girls Club of Navarro County sits on the campus site where the school was located.

   New officers elected for the class are: Diana Birdsong of Dallas, president; Sylvia A. Waters of Corsicana, vice president; H.B. Horn Jr. of Corinth, second vice president; Hattie Albert of Corsicana, treasurer; and Patricia Powell of Corsicana and Shirley Warren of Cedar Hill, secretaries.

   Bereavement Committee members are: Silver Parhm, Marie Wafer, Erma Waites and Hattie Albert, all of Corsicana.

   Outgoing president is Morris Sutton of Dallas who served for several years.

  Joining the reunion by long distance phone call was Charles Adams who could not attend but talked to each class member by phone.

   Attending the reunion were: Silver Parhm and James “Sonny” Parhm, Harold Andrews, Mary Slaughter, Martha Brown, Hattie Albert, Alton Albert, Erma Waites and Clarence Curry, all of Corsicana.

   In addition,  Sylvia A. Waters, James Mitchell and Brenda Mitchell, Darlene Jackson and Harold Jackson, Patricia Powell, Mr. and Mrs. James Muhammad and Marie Wafer,  all of Corsicana.

   Also attending were: Alvin Ervin and Kathy Ervin of Katy, Bobby McDonald and Yvonne McDonald of Plano; Dorothy McDonald Jones, Diana Birdsong, Kimberly Birdsong, Braelen Birdsong and Summer Birdsong, all of Dallas; H.B. Horn Jr. and Gwen Horn of Corinth; Morris Sutton and Carolyn Sutton of  Dallas; Shirley Warren of Cedar Hill; and Mr. and Mrs. George Terry of Lancaster.   

Text Only
  • Reunions for 7-26-14

    G. W. Carver High School Alumni Reunion

    The Ex-Students Reunion of G.W. Carver High School, Dawson will be held July 25-27 at Dawson Elementary School.

    July 25, 2014

  • Dresden UMC to hold first Lord’s Acre

    Dresden United Methodist Church will hold its first Lord’s Acre Vendor Craft Fair and Flea Market on Oct. 4, 2014.

    July 25, 2014

  • 7-19-14 Anniv-BurnsNow.jpg Burns 50th Anniversary

    Chuck Charles Burns Sr. and Pamela Johnston Burns celebrated 50 years of marriage on June 27, 2014.

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • Reunions: CHS Class of 1959, G.W. Carver High School

    The Corsicana High School Class of 1959 will have its 55th reunion on the weekend of Oct. 3 through 5, 2014.

    The ex-students of G. W. Carver will celebrate its 30th annual reunion July 25 to 27 at Dawson High School.

    July 18, 2014

  • Around the U.S. — Man using 'blowtorch' to kill spider started fire

    SEATTLE — A man who used a can of spray paint and a lighter as a makeshift blowtorch to kill a spider in his laundry room started a blaze that caused $60,000 worth of damage, Seattle fire officials said Wednesday.

    July 16, 2014

  • Familiar Faces - Five Generations Familiar Faces

    Local students graduate from University of North Texas

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • samantha stroube daviss.jpg Mom to be remembered

    As females we are always concerned with how we look, how our outfit fits us, do our shoes and handbag coordinate?...silly minor “girly” things. But as girls we reserve that right to worry about all that stuff.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • samantha stroube daviss.jpg Cutting the cord

    Being a parent is one of the most demanding jobs — both physically and emotionally.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Christmas in July: TV week of holiday programming

    NEW YORK — The Hallmark TV channels are beginning a week's worth of holiday programming on the Fourth of July — but think ornaments and egg nog instead of fireworks and hot dogs.

    July 2, 2014

  • Familiar Faces

    Ronald W. Deskin, MD receives 2014 Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni award

    June 27, 2014

AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates