Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

November 3, 2012

Decision day draws near

Voters head to polls Tuesday

From Staff Reports
Corsicana Daily Sun

Corsicana — Months, even years, of campaigning comes to a close Tuesday as voters across the country head to the polls.

From the leader of the nation to local races across the county, Tuesday’s general election has already seen significant interest through early voting.

In Navarro County, early voting totals reached levels similar to 2008, the last presidential election. Early voting ended Friday.

Tuesday, Navarro County voters will decide a handful of local races along with state and congressional positions, as well as the vote for president.

With longtime Sheriff Les Cotten stepping down this year, Republican Elmer Tanner and Democrat John Barlow are the two candidates for sheriff. Tanner won a three-way race in the much-delayed Texas primary for the GOP position. Barlow was unopposed on the Democratic ticket.

The other county-wide office with a contested race is for Kit Herrington’s Precinct 1 County Commissioner seat. Democrat Herrington chose not to seek another term as commissioner. Republican Jason Grant and Democrat Harold Tate are vying for the post. Grant’s campaign included a run-off victory over fellow Republican Lynn Shelton after none of the candidates in the primary received a majority of the vote. Tate was also unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Several county posts on the ballot Tuesday are also unopposed. Offices include District Judge James Lagomarsino, Court-At-Law Judge Amanda Putman, District Clerk Josh Tackett, Tax Assessor/Collector Russell Hudson, County Commissioner Pct. 3 David “Butch” Warren, and all four constable positions, held by Mike Davis, Tommy Grant, David Foreman, and newcomer Nicole McMahan, who replaced Brad Butler on the ballot after Butler resigned his position. County GOP leaders chose McMahan to replace Butler on the ballot.

Corsicana’s Tom Gray is also unopposed in his bid for re-election as Chief Justice of the 10th Court of Appeals.

Navarro County voters will also choose a District 8 State Representative — incumbent Republican Byron Cook is being challenged by Democrat Charles Morgan. District 22 State Senator candidates include incumbent Republican Brian Birdwell, who faces a ballot challenge by Libertarian candidate Tom Kilbride.

Texas is also choosing congressmen and a U.S. Senator, with Navarro County voters currently represented in the 6th U.S. Congressional District by Republican Joe Barton. Barton’s challengers include Democrat Kenneth Sanders, Libertarian Hugh Chauvin and Green Party candidate Brandon Palmer.  In the U.S. Senate race, longtime GOP Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison isn’t seeking re-election. Candidates include Republican Ted Cruz, Democrat Paul Sadler, Libertarian John Jay Myers and Green Party candidate David B. Collins.

In addition to the presidential race between incumbent Democrat Barack Obama and Republican challenger Mitt Romney, other ballot races include various state judge positions, railroad commissioner seats, and seats on the state board of education.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Election results will be posted online on the Daily Sun’s Facebook and online newspaper sites, and final county results will appear in the Wednesday, Nov. 7 print edition.

Here’s a complete list of polling places and a consolidated sample ballot for the Tuesday, Nov. 6 general election.


Want to “Soundoff” on this story? Email:

Nov. 6, 2012 General Election

Polling Places on Election Day

Pct. — Location

101 — Rhodes Optimist Room, Corsicana YMCA, 400 West Oaklawn, Corsicana.

103 — Church Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, 3800 Emhouse Road, Corsicana.

104 — Lone Star Cowboy Church, 4495 West Highway 22, Corsicana.

105 — Barry Methodist Church, Main Street, Barry.

106 — Emhouse Community Center, 503 N. Hopkin St., Emhouse.

107 — Rice City Hall, 203 E. Calhoun, Rice.

108 — Chatfield Community Center, FM 1603, Chatfield.

109 — Roane Baptist Church, FM 3401, Roane.

200 — Martin Luther King Jr. Community Center, 1114 East Sixth Ave., Corsicana.

201 — Bear’s Den, 802 South Second Street, Corsicana.

202 — House of Praise, 1345 West 13th Ave., Corsicana.

203 — Kerens ISD Administration Building, 200 Bobcat Lane, Kerens.

204 — Powell Volunteer Fire Station, 201 Carr Street, Powell.

205 — Eureka United Methodist Church, 8644 South Highway 287, Eureka.

206 — Mildred Middle School, 5475 South Highway 287, Mildred.

300 — Navarro College Cook Center, 3200 West Seventh Ave., Corsicana.

301 — Navarro County Courthouse, 300 West Third Ave., Corsicana.

303 — Dawson Volunteer Fire Station, Main Street, Dawson.

304 — City of Navarro Government Center, 222 North Harvard, Navarro.

305 — Angus City Hall, 6008 South Interstate 45, Angus.

306 — Retreat City Hall, FM 709, Retreat.

307 — Richland City Hall, 103 West Main, Richland.

308 — Winkler Masonic Lodge, FM 416, Winkler.

400 — Westside Baptist Church, 1522 North 24th Street, Corsicana.

401 — Navarro County Justice Center, JP Courtroom, 312 West Second Ave., Corsicana.

402 — Westhill Church of Christ, 3400 West Highway 22, Corsicana.

403 — Blooming Grove Volunteer Fire Station, 101 South Hinckley, Blooming Grove.

404 — Frost ISD, 208 North Wyrick, Frost.

405 — Silver City Volunteer Fire Department, FM 55, Silver City.

406 — Pursley Volunteer Fire Station, 9772 FM 709 South, Pursley.

Here are the consolidated ballots for the 2012 General election on Nov. 6, 2012


U.S. President/Vice-President:

Mitt Romney/Paul Ryan (REP)

Barack Obama/Joe Biden (DEM)

Gary Johnson/Jim Gray (LIB)

Jill Stein/Cheri Honkala (GRN)

U.S. Senator:

Ted Cruz (REP)

Paul Sadler (DEM)

John Jay Myers (LIB)

David B. Collins (GRN)

U.S. Rep, Dist. 6:

Joe L. Barton (REP)

Kenneth Sanders (DEM)

Hugh Chauvin (LIB)

Brandon Parmer (GRN)


Railroad Commissioner:

Christi Craddick (REP)

Dale Henry (DEM)

Vivekananda Wall (LIB)

Chris Kennedy (GRN)

Railroad Commissioner,

Unexpired term:

Barry Smitherman (REP)

Jamie O. Perez (LIB)

Josh Wendel (GRN)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 2:

Don Willett (REP)

RS Roberto Koelsch (LIB)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4:

John Devine (REP)

Tom Oxfored (LIB)

Charles E. Waterbury (GRN)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6:

Nathan Hecht (REP)

Michele Petty (DEM)

Mark Ash (LIB)

Jim Chisholm (GRN)

Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals:

Sharon Keller (REP)

Keith Hampton (DEM)

Lance Slott (LIB)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 7:

Barbara Parker Hervey (REP)

Mark W. Bennett (LIB)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8:

Elsa Alcala (REP)

William Bryan Strange III (LIB)

Member, State Board of Education, Dist. 14

Sue Melton (REP)

Stephen Hawkins (LIB)

State Senator, Dist. 22

Brian Birdwell (REP)

Tom Kilbride (LIB)

State Representative, Dist. 8

Byron Cook (REP)

Charles Morgan (DEM)

Chief Justice, 10th Court of Appeals

Tom Gray (REP)

District Judge, 13th Judicial District

James Lagomarsino (REP)

District Clerk, unexpired term

Joshua Tackett (REP)

County Court-At-Law Judge

Amanda Putman (REP)

Navarro County Sheriff

Elmer Tanner (REP)

John Barlow (DEM)

Navarro County Tax Assessor/Collector

Russell Hudson (REP)

Navarro County Commissioner, Pct. 1

Jason Grant (REP)

Harold Tate (DEM)

Navarro County Commissioner, Pct. 3

David “Butch” Warren (REP)

Constable, Pct. 1

Michael K. Davis (REP)

Constable, Pct. 2

David Foreman (REP)

Constable, Pct. 3

Nicole McMahan (REP)

Constable, Pct. 4

Tommy Grant (REP)