Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

March 26, 2014

Anaya makes it two in a row for Frost at NCYE Lamb Show

By Raymond Linex II
Corsicana Daily Sun

Corsicana — Lamb Capitol of Navarro County seems to have moved a bit. For the second year in a row, bragging rights belong to Frost.

Edgar Anaya became the second straight Frost FFA grand champion in the lamb division of the Navarro County Youth Expo. It’s an event that was dominated by the high school four miles east of Frost for so long.

“Usually Blooming Grove wins it,” a jubilant Anaya said after his win.

Anaya, who has been showing for just three years, followed in the footsteps of pal Lane Harrington, who won the event last year in his senior year at Frost.

“I started showing animals with him,” Anaya said.

Steely Southard of Blooming Grove FFA claimed reserve grand champion honors. The school remains firmly on the lamb map despite wins by Frost the last two years.

Of the eight lambs in the running for grand champion, five hailed from Blooming Grove, including Keller Southard, Steely’s brother, who had the Class 4 runner-up. Mildred did have two class champions, with Ashlea Murray’s Class 1 winner and Kyler Rounsavall’s Class 2 winner.

Steely Southard’s reserve grand champion won Class 3, while Anaya took down Class 4, the heavyweights of the competition.

“For a small county fair, there is some good quality out here,” Splendora-based judge Adam Lira said. “…But a couple stand out. You get your hands on them, and they have a little more meat to them.”

After saying that, Lira pointed at Anaya to proclaim him grand champion.

“I was kind of nervous,” Anaya said. “But I tried the best I could.”

Anaya said he plans to attend Navarro College and participate in the petroleum technology program before finishing his schooling at Tarleton State.

Steely Southard wasn’t done. She won Senior Showmanship grand champion. Cody Carroll of Blooming Grove FFA was named reserve grand champion, and Brody Owens of Blooming Grove FFA was third.

In Junior Showmanship, Clint Ewing of Corsicana 4-H was awarded grand champion. Rounsavall was the reserve grand champion, and Caroline Hoffman of Corsicana FFA was third.

Here are the Top 5 in each class:

Class 1: Ashlea Murray, Mildred 4-H; 2. Brody Owewns, Blooming Grove FFA; 3. Katrina Moore, Rice FFA; 4. Wesley Devorak, Corsicana FFA; 5. Chris Atchley, Rice FFA.

Class 2: 1. Kyler Rounsavall, Mildred FFA; 2. Brody Owens, Blooming Grove FFA; 3. Jaden Rounsavall, Mildred FFA; 4. Wesley Seth Harris, Frost FFA; 5. Cody Carroll, Blooming Grove FFA.

Class 3: Steely Southard, Blooming Grove FFA; 2. Micah Seth Haden, Blooming Grove FFA; 3. Macey Harp, Frost FFA; 4. Cody Carroll, Blooming Grove FFA; 5. Natalie Jordan, Blooming Grove/Barry 4-H.

Class 4: 1. Edgar Anaya, Frost FFA; 2. Keller Southard, Blooming Grove FFA; 3. Keller Southard, Blooming Grove FFA; 4. Creed Baker, Mildred FFA; 5. Sydney Woods, Frost FFA.