Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

March 11, 2013

County approves office changes

Moves in Tax Assessor, P&Z Commission adopted

By Bob Belcher
Corsicana Daily Sun

Corsicana — Changes in the structure of the Tax Assessor/Collector’s office and re-appointments to the Navarro County Lake Planning and Zoning Commission were approved Monday by the Navarro County Commissioners Court.

The realignment of the positions in Russell Hudson’s tax office came after a closed session that lasted nearly an hour.

Hudson said with the pending retirement of long-time Chief Deputy Silver Parhm, he plans to promote two clerks to the position of Senior Clerk, and replace the Chief Deputy clerk’s position coming open with an entry-level clerk’s position. He said the changes in the department’s structure will result in savings to the county and allow for the new structure.

Hudson said after the meeting that Robbie Jennings will serve as Senior Clerk in the motor vehicles department, and Jackie Owen will be Senior Clerk in the property tax office.

Commissioners made another personnel move Monday as well, re-appointing several members to the Lake Planning and Zoning Commission.

Each of the four commissioners made one nomination to the commission from their individual precincts, and County Judge H.M. Davenport Jr. made three appointments. The court ended up re-appointing the existing members to the panel.

Nominated by Pct. 1 Commissioner Jason Grant was Charles Irvine; Pct. 2’s Dick Martin nominated Stuart Schoppert; Pct. 3 commissioner David “Butch” Warren re-appointed Conrad Newton III; while Pct. 4’s James Olsen re-appointed Jeff Smith to the board.

Davenport also re-appointed three “at large” members to the panel — Terry Jacobson, Barbara Moe and Scott Watkins. Jacobson and Moe have served as chairman and vice-chairman of the group the last two years.

Prior to the action of the commissioners, two area residents spoke in the public forum about the Lake Planning and Zoning appointments.

Phil Krejci again voiced his concerns about re-appointing Jacobson to the board, saying he felt Jacobson’s approach was “anything the oil and gas industry wants, they’re going to give to them.”

Also, Jim Breithaupt asked that commissioners be mindful of both land owner rights and mineral owner rights when choosing members of the commission. “It’s the right thing to do legally, and for the county financially,” he said.

Other members of the Lake Planning and Zoning Commission are appointed by the mayors and councils of seven cities around the lake area.

Carrol Sigman is the mayoral appointment of the city of Eureka; Wayne McGuire is the mayoral appointment of the city of Mildred; Vickie Farmer is the mayor of Navarro; Dennis Bancroft is the mayor of Powell; Dolores Baldwin is the mayoral appointment for the city of Richland; Caleb Jackson is the mayoral appointment from the city of Corsicana; and Kim Newsom is the mayoral appointment of the city of Angus.

Commission members will choose a chairman and vice-chairman at the next commission meeting, scheduled for 5 p.m., March 21, in the basement conference room of the Navarro County Courthouse.


Bob Belcher may be reached by email at Want to “Soundoff” on this story? Email:


By Bob Belcher/Daily Sun Staff Writer

Consent Agenda approved

Commissioners approved the minutes of previous meetings, and payment of bills as submitted from the County Auditor.

Burn Ban discussed

Ample rainfall over the weekend and a low drought index resulted in no action taken on any burn ban.

Tax Report presented

Tax Assessor/Collector Russell Hudson presented the monthly tax assessor report. It was approved unanimously. Total collection now at 91 percent of total current tax levy.

Treasurer's reported given

County Treasurer Frank Hull presented the treasurer's report for January. Hull reported interest income of $7,099.96 for the month, and $23,352.99 for year to date.

Truck funding tabled

At the request of Pct. 1 Commissioner Jason Grant, who was unable to attend Monday’s court meeting, a request for transfer of funding for a fire truck from Roane VFD to Barry VFD was tabled.

Pct. 3 bridge OK'd

A request to build a bridge on SECR 1098 in Pct. 3 was approved, at a cost of $20,353. The bridge was built about 20 years ago from used rail timbers - was declared unsafe by TxDOT inspector.

Radios declared salvage

Commissioners approved a request to declare nine radios that are no longer of use in Pct. 2 as salvage.

Trustys approved for Expo work

Commissioners approved a request to use trusty labor from the county jail to help with work for the Navarro County Youth Expo.

Quitclaim deed issued

The county's tax attorneys requested county sign redemption deed for property to be returned to owner after all back taxes and expenses were paid. The property was put up for sale but did not sell.

On-site sewage facility changes made

As a result of recommendations made by the TCEQ during a recent audit, commissioners approved two changes to its ordinances. Owners of aerobic septic systems are no longer required to have a maintenance agreement after the first two years from installation, and the county no longer will need an inter-local agreement to do environmental inspections in incorporated cities within the county

Resolution for some restoration expenses OK'd

With possible expenses crossing budget years, resolution puts legal notice for reimbursement of General Fund from Certificates of Obligation.

HIDTA agreement approved

Commissioners voted to approve a contract recommendation for the North Texas High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area whose budget it signs off on for the state, contingent upon clarification of a “not satisfied” recommendation for the vendor believed to have been made in error.