Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

September 9, 2012

Hoping latest beautification effort flies

(Continued)

Corsicana — One of the group's sub-committees was charged with contacting business and property owners along the I-45 Business Route, encouraging them to help "clean up" the appearance. I'll let a drive up and down the highway speak for itself there.

That group, as such, has dis-banded - with parts of the its committees morphing with the Chamber of Commerce - and that goal of getting people to stop parking in their front yards - well, not so much.

So, reviewing here, some of our efforts - well meaning to be sure - ended up like those early years of the Dallas Cowboys of the Jerry Jones era - 1 for 15.

However, those same Cowboys - with a few new players added, and a few old ones removed - went on to win a few Super Bowls.

Perhaps we can do the same this time - we're due for a winning season.

But to accomplish that, we're gonna need to straighten out a few things, including rules and enforcement of same chief among them. And, if the "rules" are wrong, or ineffective, get them changed and follow them.

Examples? OK, if you insist.

Here is a "no-brainer" to start with. We need to eliminate the use of portable toilets in our "Historic" Downtown District - the single-most, unbelievable sight I believe I've seen driving through our downtown (that is unless we're not driving our industrial prospects down that street during the official tour).

If there is a zoning rule or ordinance or "waiver" or "adjustment" or "bending of the rules" allowing that to happen, then we've got a much bigger problem than just a dirty city.

Seriously, folks?

 

"Porta Potties" at a downtown business, being marketed as a "destination" in downtown Corsicana.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Deanna Kirk Water Park woes

    I’ve come to the realization that vacations are not a luxury, they’re a necessity.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Old, new, borrowed, blue

       Dissection of notes found in the pocket of an old suit isn’t easy. Maybe they were scrawled during the lull in a wedding ceremony, or to jog my memory of a joke for later use.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Spam french fries

    I saw a relatively disturbing video and article on Yahoo which touted making Spam French fires to go alongside your big old ground chuck burger. I just can’t imagine a basket full of these deep-fried cholesterol-loaded sticks, but there they were, bigger than Texas.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My TV is held hostage

    Give me back my TV! The Sunday sports fare today is just pitiful as far as I am concerned. Over the past weeks, my normal sports programs has been rudely preempted by endless hours of Wimbledon tennis, the Tour de France, assorted motor sports, and the nauseating mega-million signing sagas of LeBron James and Carmello Anthony

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Thoughts from abroad

    So, with the generosity of Mastercard and warm encouragement of my friends who went with me, I went to Italy on vacation. Not Italy, Texas, the one in Europe.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg For a community that’s hurting

    I think all would agree that our community is hurting right now.
    It seems like some weeks, our quota of tragedy and loss just goes through the roof. This is one of those weeks.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo