Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

March 15, 2013

Letters to the Editor 3/16/13

Invitation from Barton

To the Editor: An open letter to the citizens of Navarro County.

The nation is at a cross roads. The decisions made over the next few years will affect us for generations. From efforts to infringe on your 2nd Amendment Rights to skyrocketing federal debt and ObamaCare – I want to know what you think should be done in Washington.

You are my boss. You elected me to work for you. I believe the best way to serve the people of Navarro County is to talk to you directly. I want to let you know what is going on in the Nation’s Capital, but most importantly I want to answer your questions and listen to your concerns.

Over the next two weeks, I will be holding a series of town hall meetings including one in Corsicana at 6 p.m. Tuesday, March 26, at the Corsicana Government Center. The floor will be yours. We can discuss a wide range of topics from tax policy to the economy, but this is your meeting so you will guide the conversation.

I hope you will be able to attend. If you can’t make it – you can always share your opinion by visiting my website – www.joebarton.house.gov.

I look forward to meeting you!

U.S. Rep. Joe Barton (R-Ennis)

 

Sequestration thoughts

To the Editor: Congress, I’m gravely disappointed in your failure to find an alternative to the March 2013 sequester. Furthermore, I’m deeply concerned with its impact on the Total Force and the security of the United States of America.

Military unit readiness will steadily decline as key wartime training is cancelled and air, space, and cyber systems maintenance is deferred.

Thousands of DoD employees including Guard and Reserve technicians will be furloughed and active duty Airmen could lose their jobs.  

Military quality-of-life programs will be affected as commissaries close on Wednesdays; Tuition Assistance programs are curtailed; children’s education via the DoD schools system is impaired; and eventually there is a reduction in services under TRICARE.

In the end, our "all volunteer force" will be required to carry twice the burden of these cuts as compared to other federal programs. In my opinion, our government is asking those currently serving and veterans of the past to accept a renegotiation of their service contract, as you attempt to balance the country’s budget on the backs of those who served.

Time remains for Congress to find a solution to end the terrible effects of a sequestration and ensure the Nation’s ability to defend itself. I urge you to do everything in your power to make this happen.

Sincerely,

Roger Hardie

Text Only
Opinion
  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk mug Gotta love a small town

    There's so many things to love about living in a small town. Why just last week I got to hang out with my ex-husband, his folks, his wife and baby at the Youth Expo. Then just a day later, I got to see my other ex-husband and his wife at the hospital, when one of our daughters got sick and landed there.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jacobs, Janet.jpg Weird foods on our shelves

    The Atlantic magazine reported recently that sales of frozen pre-packaged dinners are falling and Nestle is considering selling off its Lean Cuisine food line.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo