Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

March 15, 2013

Letters to the Editor 3/16/13

Invitation from Barton

To the Editor: An open letter to the citizens of Navarro County.

The nation is at a cross roads. The decisions made over the next few years will affect us for generations. From efforts to infringe on your 2nd Amendment Rights to skyrocketing federal debt and ObamaCare – I want to know what you think should be done in Washington.

You are my boss. You elected me to work for you. I believe the best way to serve the people of Navarro County is to talk to you directly. I want to let you know what is going on in the Nation’s Capital, but most importantly I want to answer your questions and listen to your concerns.

Over the next two weeks, I will be holding a series of town hall meetings including one in Corsicana at 6 p.m. Tuesday, March 26, at the Corsicana Government Center. The floor will be yours. We can discuss a wide range of topics from tax policy to the economy, but this is your meeting so you will guide the conversation.

I hope you will be able to attend. If you can’t make it – you can always share your opinion by visiting my website – www.joebarton.house.gov.

I look forward to meeting you!

U.S. Rep. Joe Barton (R-Ennis)

 

Sequestration thoughts

To the Editor: Congress, I’m gravely disappointed in your failure to find an alternative to the March 2013 sequester. Furthermore, I’m deeply concerned with its impact on the Total Force and the security of the United States of America.

Military unit readiness will steadily decline as key wartime training is cancelled and air, space, and cyber systems maintenance is deferred.

Thousands of DoD employees including Guard and Reserve technicians will be furloughed and active duty Airmen could lose their jobs.  

Military quality-of-life programs will be affected as commissaries close on Wednesdays; Tuition Assistance programs are curtailed; children’s education via the DoD schools system is impaired; and eventually there is a reduction in services under TRICARE.

In the end, our "all volunteer force" will be required to carry twice the burden of these cuts as compared to other federal programs. In my opinion, our government is asking those currently serving and veterans of the past to accept a renegotiation of their service contract, as you attempt to balance the country’s budget on the backs of those who served.

Time remains for Congress to find a solution to end the terrible effects of a sequestration and ensure the Nation’s ability to defend itself. I urge you to do everything in your power to make this happen.

Sincerely,

Roger Hardie

Text Only
Opinion
  • Deanna Kirk The times, they are a-changin

    A gentleman called our office early in the week, more than a bit upset.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Flipping out over flip-tops

    Somewhere between the admonition to avoid looks at gift horse’s mouths and the dangers of Greeks bearing gifts should be warnings about acceptance of gifts from offspring.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg ‘Spilling doze count’

    My subject is borrowed from a local contributor to the Sarasota Herald Tribune named Bob Parkinson.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk Water Park woes

    I’ve come to the realization that vacations are not a luxury, they’re a necessity.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Old, new, borrowed, blue

       Dissection of notes found in the pocket of an old suit isn’t easy. Maybe they were scrawled during the lull in a wedding ceremony, or to jog my memory of a joke for later use.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Spam french fries

    I saw a relatively disturbing video and article on Yahoo which touted making Spam French fires to go alongside your big old ground chuck burger. I just can’t imagine a basket full of these deep-fried cholesterol-loaded sticks, but there they were, bigger than Texas.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates