Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

August 16, 2013

Letters to the Editor 8/17/13

Listening to you at home,working for you in Washington

To Navarro County residents: The nation is at a cross roads. The decisions made over the next few years will affect us for generations. From efforts to infringe on your 4th Amendment Rights to Immigration Reform and ObamaCare – I want to know what you think should be done in Washington.

You are my boss. You elected me to work for you. I believe the best way to serve the people of the Corsicana is to talk to you directly. I want to let you know what is going on in the Nation’s Capital, but most importantly I want to answer your questions and listen to your concerns.

I will be holding two town hall meetings in Navarro County this week to listen to you.

The first is at the Kerens Alumni Center at noon on Tuesday, Aug. 20, and at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 21, at the Corsicana Government Center.

The floor will be yours. We can discuss a wide range of topics from tax policy to the economy, but this is your meeting so you will guide the conversation.

I look forward to meeting you!

U.S. Rep. Joe Barton (R-Ennis)

 

Money matters

To the Editor: What a shame we’re having in Corsicana and Navarro County of a business or organization being ripped off.

What do you expect when you allow one individual to have complete control of money flow?

It’s not the good old days when I was a kid growing up in Frost. We helped run a dairy. In the early morning hours customers would put cash in empty milk containers on their porch in exchange for fresh milk.

Try that today folks! You would walk onto the porch and discover a empty milk container with no cash and no fresh milk for the kids breakfast.

In my opinion no less than three individuals should have equal responsibility of a business daily transactions.

Jim Basham

Corsicana

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Flipping out over flip-tops

    Somewhere between the admonition to avoid looks at gift horse’s mouths and the dangers of Greeks bearing gifts should be warnings about acceptance of gifts from offspring.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg ‘Spilling doze count’

    My subject is borrowed from a local contributor to the Sarasota Herald Tribune named Bob Parkinson.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk Water Park woes

    I’ve come to the realization that vacations are not a luxury, they’re a necessity.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Old, new, borrowed, blue

       Dissection of notes found in the pocket of an old suit isn’t easy. Maybe they were scrawled during the lull in a wedding ceremony, or to jog my memory of a joke for later use.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Spam french fries

    I saw a relatively disturbing video and article on Yahoo which touted making Spam French fires to go alongside your big old ground chuck burger. I just can’t imagine a basket full of these deep-fried cholesterol-loaded sticks, but there they were, bigger than Texas.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My TV is held hostage

    Give me back my TV! The Sunday sports fare today is just pitiful as far as I am concerned. Over the past weeks, my normal sports programs has been rudely preempted by endless hours of Wimbledon tennis, the Tour de France, assorted motor sports, and the nauseating mega-million signing sagas of LeBron James and Carmello Anthony

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo