Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

August 16, 2013

Letters to the Editor 8/17/13

Listening to you at home,working for you in Washington

To Navarro County residents: The nation is at a cross roads. The decisions made over the next few years will affect us for generations. From efforts to infringe on your 4th Amendment Rights to Immigration Reform and ObamaCare – I want to know what you think should be done in Washington.

You are my boss. You elected me to work for you. I believe the best way to serve the people of the Corsicana is to talk to you directly. I want to let you know what is going on in the Nation’s Capital, but most importantly I want to answer your questions and listen to your concerns.

I will be holding two town hall meetings in Navarro County this week to listen to you.

The first is at the Kerens Alumni Center at noon on Tuesday, Aug. 20, and at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 21, at the Corsicana Government Center.

The floor will be yours. We can discuss a wide range of topics from tax policy to the economy, but this is your meeting so you will guide the conversation.

I look forward to meeting you!

U.S. Rep. Joe Barton (R-Ennis)

 

Money matters

To the Editor: What a shame we’re having in Corsicana and Navarro County of a business or organization being ripped off.

What do you expect when you allow one individual to have complete control of money flow?

It’s not the good old days when I was a kid growing up in Frost. We helped run a dairy. In the early morning hours customers would put cash in empty milk containers on their porch in exchange for fresh milk.

Try that today folks! You would walk onto the porch and discover a empty milk container with no cash and no fresh milk for the kids breakfast.

In my opinion no less than three individuals should have equal responsibility of a business daily transactions.

Jim Basham

Corsicana

Text Only
Opinion
  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My TV is held hostage

    Give me back my TV! The Sunday sports fare today is just pitiful as far as I am concerned. Over the past weeks, my normal sports programs has been rudely preempted by endless hours of Wimbledon tennis, the Tour de France, assorted motor sports, and the nauseating mega-million signing sagas of LeBron James and Carmello Anthony

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Thoughts from abroad

    So, with the generosity of Mastercard and warm encouragement of my friends who went with me, I went to Italy on vacation. Not Italy, Texas, the one in Europe.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg For a community that’s hurting

    I think all would agree that our community is hurting right now.
    It seems like some weeks, our quota of tragedy and loss just goes through the roof. This is one of those weeks.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley An inspiring life

    Last week, while Americans prepared their fireworks for the fourth of July, Louis Zamparini quietly slipped the bonds of this earth at the age of 97.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The 'H-O-A' and You

    If you live in Florida, homeowner associations (HOAs) are pretty much a fact of life. An HOA is a corporation formed, usually by a real estate developer, for the purpose of marketing, managing, and selling homes, condominiums, and apartments within a new residential development.

    July 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Guest Commentary: Public's right to know is a worthy legislative agenda

     Last week’s Texas Press Association convention in Corpus Christi served as a reminder to elected officials that We the People own the government. The reminder didn’t take the negative tone of a warning or a threat, but of positive reinforcement in recognizing four of those elected officials who defended the people’s right to a free flow of their information.

    July 6, 2014