Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

August 16, 2013

Letters to the Editor 8/17/13

Listening to you at home,working for you in Washington

To Navarro County residents: The nation is at a cross roads. The decisions made over the next few years will affect us for generations. From efforts to infringe on your 4th Amendment Rights to Immigration Reform and ObamaCare – I want to know what you think should be done in Washington.

You are my boss. You elected me to work for you. I believe the best way to serve the people of the Corsicana is to talk to you directly. I want to let you know what is going on in the Nation’s Capital, but most importantly I want to answer your questions and listen to your concerns.

I will be holding two town hall meetings in Navarro County this week to listen to you.

The first is at the Kerens Alumni Center at noon on Tuesday, Aug. 20, and at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 21, at the Corsicana Government Center.

The floor will be yours. We can discuss a wide range of topics from tax policy to the economy, but this is your meeting so you will guide the conversation.

I look forward to meeting you!

U.S. Rep. Joe Barton (R-Ennis)

 

Money matters

To the Editor: What a shame we’re having in Corsicana and Navarro County of a business or organization being ripped off.

What do you expect when you allow one individual to have complete control of money flow?

It’s not the good old days when I was a kid growing up in Frost. We helped run a dairy. In the early morning hours customers would put cash in empty milk containers on their porch in exchange for fresh milk.

Try that today folks! You would walk onto the porch and discover a empty milk container with no cash and no fresh milk for the kids breakfast.

In my opinion no less than three individuals should have equal responsibility of a business daily transactions.

Jim Basham

Corsicana

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk mug Gotta love a small town

    There's so many things to love about living in a small town. Why just last week I got to hang out with my ex-husband, his folks, his wife and baby at the Youth Expo. Then just a day later, I got to see my other ex-husband and his wife at the hospital, when one of our daughters got sick and landed there.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jacobs, Janet.jpg Weird foods on our shelves

    The Atlantic magazine reported recently that sales of frozen pre-packaged dinners are falling and Nestle is considering selling off its Lean Cuisine food line.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Nightfall

    Under the glaring light of day we may fool ourselves into thinking that we are center stage, that everything revolves around us. But the night gently reminds us that we are, in fact, a small speck in the galaxies of creation.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Marjorie Main, in love and war

    Folks with dim memories of World War II recall the “coming home” of troops, and attendant triumphal celebrations that reverberated around the globe.

    April 2, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates