Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

February 28, 2014

Amazing story

Often, you start off your Monday with some semblance of an idea what the day and week will hold. Although working in a newsroom will teach you one thing: you don’t have control over anything.

I knew I had one week to crank out another magazine, and had not started.

On Monday, when I first got in, I found a couple of emails about a medal of honor story. “Oh boy,” I thought to myself. “Just what I need, one more story.”

But I must say, that once I cleared my mind and let go of all that other stuff I had to do, and allowed myself to become immersed in the medal of honor story, it became a huge blessing. A story I was grateful to be allowed to tell.

My husband had mentioned on Saturday how tickled he was that Pres. Obama was going to recognize some “overlooked” heroes, men who had exhibited heroism in battle. But also men who were passed by for medals of honor perhaps because they were Jewish, Hispanic, or African-American.

I had no clue that one of those men was a native of Corsicana.

Candelario Garcia Jr. (who was mainly known as Junior by his family, and Spider by his friends) was a young man whose father was killed in battle in World War II in France. He and his sister and brother were without a father figure, until their mother remarried. Junior was a well-liked, popular, fun-loving guy. He was small in stature (according to classmate Ed Erwin, one of the shortest in their class), but always a snappy dresser. His sister Mary said he always preferred slacks and a starched white shirt to jeans and a T-shirt.

This young man went off to serve his country in the Vietnam war. He did three tours in the United States Army.

That war was not popular, and many who served came back to no gratitude, acclaim, and apparently, understanding of what these young men saw over there.

Junior’s family and friends, those I was privileged to visit with that Monday, all said the same thing: Junior never, ever talked about his experiences in Vietnam. In fact, none of them knew what acts of bravery and heroism young Garcia did in battle.

Until the story came out about his Medal of Honor.

Basically, when young Junior’s unit was under heavy fire, several men were wounded and trapped in the open. Despite the rain of hostile bullets, Garcia crawled to within 10 meters of a machine-gun bunker, jumped to his feet and ran right toward the fortification, constantly firing his rifle. He jammed two hand grenades into the gun port and then put the muzzle of his weapon inside, killing all four occupants. Still being fired upon wildly, he ran 15 more meters to another bunker and killed the three men there with grenades and rifle fire. He rescued the two casualties, then joined his company in an assault, taking over the remaining enemy positions.

Garcia returned home to Corsicana, but was never quite the same after his time in Vietnam. At that time, our understanding of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder was probably limited to none. Counseling or therapy was all but unheard of except for Hollywood actors.

The Medal of Honor awarded to Candelario Garcia Jr. (posthumously, since Garcia passed away Jan. 10, 2013) on March 18, 2014 will replace his Distinguished Service Cross, and will join his Silver Star, Bronze Star Medal, Purple Heart, Air Medal, Army Commendation Medal with “V” Device and one Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster, Army Good Conduct Medal, National Defense Service Medal, Vietnam Service Medal with two Silver Service Stars and one Bronze Service Star, Meritorious Unit Commendation, Combat Infantryman Badge, Expert Marksmanship Badge with Rifle, Republic of Vietnam Gallantry Cross with Silver Star, Republic of Vietnam Campaign Medal with “60” Device, Republic of Vietnam Gallantry Cross Unit Citations with Palm Device and Republic of Vietnam Civil Actions Honor Medal Unit Citation, First Class.

One has to wonder if Garcia had been able to go down to Navarro Mall and walk into the Lakes Regional Community Center and receive free counseling for PTSD (as any veteran may do now), if his life might have gone differently.

We will never know.

                          —————

Deanna Kirk is a Daily Sun staff writer and editor of Explore Magazine. Her column appears on Saturdays. She may be reached by email at dkirk@corsicanadailysun.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Flipping out over flip-tops

    Somewhere between the admonition to avoid looks at gift horse’s mouths and the dangers of Greeks bearing gifts should be warnings about acceptance of gifts from offspring.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg ‘Spilling doze count’

    My subject is borrowed from a local contributor to the Sarasota Herald Tribune named Bob Parkinson.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk Water Park woes

    I’ve come to the realization that vacations are not a luxury, they’re a necessity.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Old, new, borrowed, blue

       Dissection of notes found in the pocket of an old suit isn’t easy. Maybe they were scrawled during the lull in a wedding ceremony, or to jog my memory of a joke for later use.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Spam french fries

    I saw a relatively disturbing video and article on Yahoo which touted making Spam French fires to go alongside your big old ground chuck burger. I just can’t imagine a basket full of these deep-fried cholesterol-loaded sticks, but there they were, bigger than Texas.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My TV is held hostage

    Give me back my TV! The Sunday sports fare today is just pitiful as far as I am concerned. Over the past weeks, my normal sports programs has been rudely preempted by endless hours of Wimbledon tennis, the Tour de France, assorted motor sports, and the nauseating mega-million signing sagas of LeBron James and Carmello Anthony

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo