Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

October 11, 2013

Letters to the Editor 10/12/13

Grateful for support

To the Editor: On Oct. 1, 2013, the Corsicana Police Department hosted Texas Night Out at Jester Park from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. Approximately 300 visitors of all ages came out and enjoyed the event. First responders were on hand to let everyone know that they will be there anytime you need them and what you need to do in case of an emergency. We shared information on how to keep safe and how to protect our homes. In addition to all the information that was given out by many agencies, everyone got to enjoy free hot dogs, chips, sodas, and a giant inflatable slide.

Thanks goes to all the parents and grandparents that brought their families to Texas Night Out. I would like to commend all the children that said, “Thank you” after receiving their hot dogs.    

The Corsicana Police Department was able to have a drawing for some bicycles. These bicycles were in our Property Room, had not been claimed and the owners were not known. Citizens should remember to have all bicycles marked with some type of identification so they can be returned to the proper owner if found or recovered. The winners of the four bicycles and one electric scooter were: Angel Lopez, Da-Jasia Nathan, Ethan Medina, Sophia Salas, and Logan Stephens. They were very excited and appreciative.

I could not have made this event such a success without the help of the following employees, businesses and volunteers that came out to help in many ways including passing out lots of free “goodies” and information, helping with the cooking and raffle, and greeting the visitors: Assistant Police Chief Ronny McGaha, Animal Services Manager Melony Jordan, Animal Control Officer J.D. Murillo, Police Adm. Assistant Shirley Morgan, K9 Officer Kenneth Darby with K9 Dina, CPD 911 Tag Team Teresa Morales and Rowena Winfrey, the Child Advocacy Center/CASA, Navarro Regional Hospital, Impact Navarro, Corsicana Fire Department, Retreat Volunteer Fire Department, Chili’s, and Applebee’s. We appreciate the Corsicana Parks Department for providing a great place to hold Texas Night Out. Thank you all for being a part of this.

I would also like to say a big thank you to my wife, Lorrie, our neighbor, Verla Seregi, and Jerry Morgan for helping out. We are already planning next year’s event. Texas Night Out is held the first Tuesday of October each year.

Sincerely,

James Hudson

Crime Prevention Officer

Corsicana Police Department

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg When 'breaking news' was fragile

    The lesson, hammered by countless journalism teachers for century(s), was intended to be cattle-branded into minds of aspiring writers who would go forth to inform readers about what’s going on in the world. And it was emphasized that “getting it right” was preferable to “getting it first.”

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Highly questionable

    As you have probably surmised, I am just about addicted to my TV, and especially to jock shows throughout the day. I usually start my day with a couple hours of “Imus in the Morning,” just to broaden my horizons in the areas of politics, investments, current events, show business, and a plethora of other topics

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Technology versus common sense

    The gadgets of the future will include an internet-assisted backyard grill, according to news accounts this past week.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates