Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

December 5, 2013

Boys are completely different creatures

I get asked all the time if I wish I had a little girl mixed into to my brood of testosterone that is literally slung against the walls of our house on a daily basis. And my simple response is always, the truth, “I don’t think I would know what to do with a little girl”.
We recently went on a trip for the Thanksgiving holiday, and as I was walking through the airport I saw the cutest little girl carrying her baby doll under her arm. But then I turned to my right and saw my two youngest boys with their noses plastered against the big glass windows just drooling over all the airplanes taking off and taxiing around right before their big eyes, and it warmed my heart to know that even though they are rough and tumble (on a daily basis) I wouldn’t trade my three little men for the world.
We were lucky enough to spend the holiday in the mountains enjoying the first layer of snow and the crisp mountain air. But my boys’ idea of fun is having snowball fights (even in the middle of the resort village), and going on adventure hikes that follow the flow of the chilly creek that snakes through, around, and out of the resort village. Of course, all three of my boys were willing and able to try ice skating on the pond that isn’t completely frozen edge to edge just yet.
Not to worry - the professionals had the “safe zone” marked off for skating, but there is always that chance that a part of the ice may not be as secure as old mom would like it to be. Nonetheless, all three of them got out there and gave it a try. The 3-year-old immediately ran in the building and asked for a pair of “skaters” (skates), and the 2-year-old instantly took to the ice in his snow boots, running from one end of the ice to the other. The 11-year-old practiced his baseball slides on the ice and snow, only to soak every fiber of his jeans and sweatshirt to the core. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Highly questionable

    As you have probably surmised, I am just about addicted to my TV, and especially to jock shows throughout the day. I usually start my day with a couple hours of “Imus in the Morning,” just to broaden my horizons in the areas of politics, investments, current events, show business, and a plethora of other topics

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Technology versus common sense

    The gadgets of the future will include an internet-assisted backyard grill, according to news accounts this past week.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates