Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

December 29, 2012

At year's end

Yes, it was, or at least will be, 366 days by the time Dec. 31 rolls around.

Leap Year is to blame for that extra 24 hours, just in case you had forgotten.

So to all you “Leap Year” babies, happy 1/4 of what you really are ...

Been a while since I’ve popped onto this weekend page, but for those who may have thought they’d make it through the rest of the year without a visit from me — Oh well!

This year will go down as a good one in my books — at least on balance.

We hit a few rough spots, lost a few good folks, and have made some positive progress in the community and county.

And for that progress, we can be, and should be, extremely thankful.

Not sure what the coming days and weeks will bring regarding that dastardly “Financial Cliff” but I wish those “Bozos” in D.C. would do their job and fix it.

That’s one thing that 2012 brought for me — or maybe it’s that I’m getting older — in that I have lost nearly all patience for the “political process” that is Washington, D.C.

Then again, I’m certain I’m not alone in that respect.

But I digress ...

This was a good year for us, and looking back on it, one that we will likely remember.

And “Looking Back” is exactly what we’ll be doing in the next two editions of your Corsicana Daily Sun — a look back a the top stories of the year for 2012.

In the Jan. 1, 2013 edition — which you’ll receive in the mail on Monday, Dec. 31 — we’ll have a look at the top 10 local news stories of the year.

Just like the Christmas week, because of the postal holiday on Tuesday, your Tuesday paper will come one day early in your Monday mail.

Then, in the Jan. 3, 2013 edition — which will be delivered to you on Wednesday — there will be an overview of the top 10 national stories.

It’s always an interesting time when we review what’s happened in the last year.

Blame it on my advancing years, but I find myself coming across things that make me say “I didn’t remember that” or “was that this year?”

But even if I do happen to “recall” the story or issue, it’s still interesting to go back over it, and what’s happened since then with that event.

The local list for this year touches on people, places, the economy and our local history.

On the national scene, the stories range from tragedy to triumph, from “Mother Nature” to moral issues. The Associated Press provides the coverage that we’ll share with you on Wednesday.

On a personal note, it’s been a good year for this old reporter, one for which I’m extremely grateful.

And the Daily Sun family has joined together to wish a speedy recovery to Tanya Linex, wife of our publisher, Raymond Linex II, who is doing great, we understand, following a mid-December health scare. Our thoughts and prayers remain with the Linex family — an outstanding young couple in our community.

We have learned, via Facebook, that Raymond can be a “bossy nurse.”

Don’t be thinking that will work when you return to work, though.

We’ll close with a wish for you — one of happiness, good health and the best for your family in the coming new year.

While we’ve all enjoyed the holidays, I think we could use a good dose of “routine” to return to all of our lives.

And I think we’re ready!

Happy New Year!

                     —————

Bob Belcher is Managing Editor of the Corsicana Daily Sun. His column appears on Saturdays. He may be reached by email at bbelcher@corsicanadailysun.com. Follow him on Twitter: @belcherblog. Want to “Soundoff” on this column? Email: soundoff@corsicanadailysun.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg ‘Spilling doze count’

    My subject is borrowed from a local contributor to the Sarasota Herald Tribune named Bob Parkinson.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk Water Park woes

    I’ve come to the realization that vacations are not a luxury, they’re a necessity.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Old, new, borrowed, blue

       Dissection of notes found in the pocket of an old suit isn’t easy. Maybe they were scrawled during the lull in a wedding ceremony, or to jog my memory of a joke for later use.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Spam french fries

    I saw a relatively disturbing video and article on Yahoo which touted making Spam French fires to go alongside your big old ground chuck burger. I just can’t imagine a basket full of these deep-fried cholesterol-loaded sticks, but there they were, bigger than Texas.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My TV is held hostage

    Give me back my TV! The Sunday sports fare today is just pitiful as far as I am concerned. Over the past weeks, my normal sports programs has been rudely preempted by endless hours of Wimbledon tennis, the Tour de France, assorted motor sports, and the nauseating mega-million signing sagas of LeBron James and Carmello Anthony

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Thoughts from abroad

    So, with the generosity of Mastercard and warm encouragement of my friends who went with me, I went to Italy on vacation. Not Italy, Texas, the one in Europe.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo