Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

December 29, 2012

At year's end

Yes, it was, or at least will be, 366 days by the time Dec. 31 rolls around.

Leap Year is to blame for that extra 24 hours, just in case you had forgotten.

So to all you “Leap Year” babies, happy 1/4 of what you really are ...

Been a while since I’ve popped onto this weekend page, but for those who may have thought they’d make it through the rest of the year without a visit from me — Oh well!

This year will go down as a good one in my books — at least on balance.

We hit a few rough spots, lost a few good folks, and have made some positive progress in the community and county.

And for that progress, we can be, and should be, extremely thankful.

Not sure what the coming days and weeks will bring regarding that dastardly “Financial Cliff” but I wish those “Bozos” in D.C. would do their job and fix it.

That’s one thing that 2012 brought for me — or maybe it’s that I’m getting older — in that I have lost nearly all patience for the “political process” that is Washington, D.C.

Then again, I’m certain I’m not alone in that respect.

But I digress ...

This was a good year for us, and looking back on it, one that we will likely remember.

And “Looking Back” is exactly what we’ll be doing in the next two editions of your Corsicana Daily Sun — a look back a the top stories of the year for 2012.

In the Jan. 1, 2013 edition — which you’ll receive in the mail on Monday, Dec. 31 — we’ll have a look at the top 10 local news stories of the year.

Just like the Christmas week, because of the postal holiday on Tuesday, your Tuesday paper will come one day early in your Monday mail.

Then, in the Jan. 3, 2013 edition — which will be delivered to you on Wednesday — there will be an overview of the top 10 national stories.

It’s always an interesting time when we review what’s happened in the last year.

Blame it on my advancing years, but I find myself coming across things that make me say “I didn’t remember that” or “was that this year?”

But even if I do happen to “recall” the story or issue, it’s still interesting to go back over it, and what’s happened since then with that event.

The local list for this year touches on people, places, the economy and our local history.

On the national scene, the stories range from tragedy to triumph, from “Mother Nature” to moral issues. The Associated Press provides the coverage that we’ll share with you on Wednesday.

On a personal note, it’s been a good year for this old reporter, one for which I’m extremely grateful.

And the Daily Sun family has joined together to wish a speedy recovery to Tanya Linex, wife of our publisher, Raymond Linex II, who is doing great, we understand, following a mid-December health scare. Our thoughts and prayers remain with the Linex family — an outstanding young couple in our community.

We have learned, via Facebook, that Raymond can be a “bossy nurse.”

Don’t be thinking that will work when you return to work, though.

We’ll close with a wish for you — one of happiness, good health and the best for your family in the coming new year.

While we’ve all enjoyed the holidays, I think we could use a good dose of “routine” to return to all of our lives.

And I think we’re ready!

Happy New Year!

                     —————

Bob Belcher is Managing Editor of the Corsicana Daily Sun. His column appears on Saturdays. He may be reached by email at bbelcher@corsicanadailysun.com. Follow him on Twitter: @belcherblog. Want to “Soundoff” on this column? Email: soundoff@corsicanadailysun.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Bill Tinsley The light within

    Last week the small town of West, Texas marked one year since the devastating chemical explosion leveled a large section of the town killing fifteen and injuring more than 200.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg When 'breaking news' was fragile

    The lesson, hammered by countless journalism teachers for century(s), was intended to be cattle-branded into minds of aspiring writers who would go forth to inform readers about what’s going on in the world. And it was emphasized that “getting it right” was preferable to “getting it first.”

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Highly questionable

    As you have probably surmised, I am just about addicted to my TV, and especially to jock shows throughout the day. I usually start my day with a couple hours of “Imus in the Morning,” just to broaden my horizons in the areas of politics, investments, current events, show business, and a plethora of other topics

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Technology versus common sense

    The gadgets of the future will include an internet-assisted backyard grill, according to news accounts this past week.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014