Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

December 29, 2012

At year's end

Yes, it was, or at least will be, 366 days by the time Dec. 31 rolls around.

Leap Year is to blame for that extra 24 hours, just in case you had forgotten.

So to all you “Leap Year” babies, happy 1/4 of what you really are ...

Been a while since I’ve popped onto this weekend page, but for those who may have thought they’d make it through the rest of the year without a visit from me — Oh well!

This year will go down as a good one in my books — at least on balance.

We hit a few rough spots, lost a few good folks, and have made some positive progress in the community and county.

And for that progress, we can be, and should be, extremely thankful.

Not sure what the coming days and weeks will bring regarding that dastardly “Financial Cliff” but I wish those “Bozos” in D.C. would do their job and fix it.

That’s one thing that 2012 brought for me — or maybe it’s that I’m getting older — in that I have lost nearly all patience for the “political process” that is Washington, D.C.

Then again, I’m certain I’m not alone in that respect.

But I digress ...

This was a good year for us, and looking back on it, one that we will likely remember.

And “Looking Back” is exactly what we’ll be doing in the next two editions of your Corsicana Daily Sun — a look back a the top stories of the year for 2012.

In the Jan. 1, 2013 edition — which you’ll receive in the mail on Monday, Dec. 31 — we’ll have a look at the top 10 local news stories of the year.

Just like the Christmas week, because of the postal holiday on Tuesday, your Tuesday paper will come one day early in your Monday mail.

Then, in the Jan. 3, 2013 edition — which will be delivered to you on Wednesday — there will be an overview of the top 10 national stories.

It’s always an interesting time when we review what’s happened in the last year.

Blame it on my advancing years, but I find myself coming across things that make me say “I didn’t remember that” or “was that this year?”

But even if I do happen to “recall” the story or issue, it’s still interesting to go back over it, and what’s happened since then with that event.

The local list for this year touches on people, places, the economy and our local history.

On the national scene, the stories range from tragedy to triumph, from “Mother Nature” to moral issues. The Associated Press provides the coverage that we’ll share with you on Wednesday.

On a personal note, it’s been a good year for this old reporter, one for which I’m extremely grateful.

And the Daily Sun family has joined together to wish a speedy recovery to Tanya Linex, wife of our publisher, Raymond Linex II, who is doing great, we understand, following a mid-December health scare. Our thoughts and prayers remain with the Linex family — an outstanding young couple in our community.

We have learned, via Facebook, that Raymond can be a “bossy nurse.”

Don’t be thinking that will work when you return to work, though.

We’ll close with a wish for you — one of happiness, good health and the best for your family in the coming new year.

While we’ve all enjoyed the holidays, I think we could use a good dose of “routine” to return to all of our lives.

And I think we’re ready!

Happy New Year!

                     —————

Bob Belcher is Managing Editor of the Corsicana Daily Sun. His column appears on Saturdays. He may be reached by email at bbelcher@corsicanadailysun.com. Follow him on Twitter: @belcherblog. Want to “Soundoff” on this column? Email: soundoff@corsicanadailysun.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk mug Gotta love a small town

    There's so many things to love about living in a small town. Why just last week I got to hang out with my ex-husband, his folks, his wife and baby at the Youth Expo. Then just a day later, I got to see my other ex-husband and his wife at the hospital, when one of our daughters got sick and landed there.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jacobs, Janet.jpg Weird foods on our shelves

    The Atlantic magazine reported recently that sales of frozen pre-packaged dinners are falling and Nestle is considering selling off its Lean Cuisine food line.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Nightfall

    Under the glaring light of day we may fool ourselves into thinking that we are center stage, that everything revolves around us. But the night gently reminds us that we are, in fact, a small speck in the galaxies of creation.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Marjorie Main, in love and war

    Folks with dim memories of World War II recall the “coming home” of troops, and attendant triumphal celebrations that reverberated around the globe.

    April 2, 2014 1 Photo