Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

June 28, 2013

Letters to the Editor 6/29/13

Let the People Decide

To the Editor: It is very disconcerting that we live in a free society where the people have lost their voice. Although we are quick to criticize Washington, we the people, allow our local governments to do the same thing as Washington does: Spend our money without our approval.

In regards to the proposed renovation of the Navarro County Courthouse, the intent of Certificates of Obligation is for emergencies. When the responsibility of the elected body is to fund an emergency, they can do it quickly through Certificates of Obligations to protect the welfare of the citizens. The restoration of the Courthouse is not an emergency.

Personally, I am neither against nor for the restoration. I am for protecting the voice of the people. In my opinion, the issue should be put on the ballot for the people to decide. The lack of transparency of what this project will cost and the lack of effort to communicate these costs to Navarro County citizens are troubling. We the people want to be involved in this process.

The Commissioners Court is making a major decision that will affect our tax burden. The amount of the tax rate is unknown until we have hard numbers. The rate will also be determined by how long the Court decides to finance this project. It could be $0.02 per $100.00 valuation or more.

Navarro County’s State Representative co-sponsored a bill (HB14) that would require more transparency for Certificates of Obligations and to limit the abuse of issuing them in non-emergency situations. That message should be loud and clear to the Commissioners Court to put this on the ballot.

Please call the County Judge, your Commissioner and tell them that this should be a vote of the people.

Judge Davenport – 903-654-3025.

Commissioner Grant – 903-654-3031.

Commissioner Martin – 903-654-3032.

Commissioner Warren – 903-654-3033.

Commissioner Olsen – 903-654-3034.

Robert (Bobby) Vickery

Navarro County resident

Text Only
Opinion
  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk mug Gotta love a small town

    There's so many things to love about living in a small town. Why just last week I got to hang out with my ex-husband, his folks, his wife and baby at the Youth Expo. Then just a day later, I got to see my other ex-husband and his wife at the hospital, when one of our daughters got sick and landed there.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jacobs, Janet.jpg Weird foods on our shelves

    The Atlantic magazine reported recently that sales of frozen pre-packaged dinners are falling and Nestle is considering selling off its Lean Cuisine food line.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo