Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

June 28, 2013

Letters to the Editor 6/29/13

Let the People Decide

To the Editor: It is very disconcerting that we live in a free society where the people have lost their voice. Although we are quick to criticize Washington, we the people, allow our local governments to do the same thing as Washington does: Spend our money without our approval.

In regards to the proposed renovation of the Navarro County Courthouse, the intent of Certificates of Obligation is for emergencies. When the responsibility of the elected body is to fund an emergency, they can do it quickly through Certificates of Obligations to protect the welfare of the citizens. The restoration of the Courthouse is not an emergency.

Personally, I am neither against nor for the restoration. I am for protecting the voice of the people. In my opinion, the issue should be put on the ballot for the people to decide. The lack of transparency of what this project will cost and the lack of effort to communicate these costs to Navarro County citizens are troubling. We the people want to be involved in this process.

The Commissioners Court is making a major decision that will affect our tax burden. The amount of the tax rate is unknown until we have hard numbers. The rate will also be determined by how long the Court decides to finance this project. It could be $0.02 per $100.00 valuation or more.

Navarro County’s State Representative co-sponsored a bill (HB14) that would require more transparency for Certificates of Obligations and to limit the abuse of issuing them in non-emergency situations. That message should be loud and clear to the Commissioners Court to put this on the ballot.

Please call the County Judge, your Commissioner and tell them that this should be a vote of the people.

Judge Davenport – 903-654-3025.

Commissioner Grant – 903-654-3031.

Commissioner Martin – 903-654-3032.

Commissioner Warren – 903-654-3033.

Commissioner Olsen – 903-654-3034.

Robert (Bobby) Vickery

Navarro County resident

Text Only
Opinion
  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My TV is held hostage

    Give me back my TV! The Sunday sports fare today is just pitiful as far as I am concerned. Over the past weeks, my normal sports programs has been rudely preempted by endless hours of Wimbledon tennis, the Tour de France, assorted motor sports, and the nauseating mega-million signing sagas of LeBron James and Carmello Anthony

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Thoughts from abroad

    So, with the generosity of Mastercard and warm encouragement of my friends who went with me, I went to Italy on vacation. Not Italy, Texas, the one in Europe.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg For a community that’s hurting

    I think all would agree that our community is hurting right now.
    It seems like some weeks, our quota of tragedy and loss just goes through the roof. This is one of those weeks.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley An inspiring life

    Last week, while Americans prepared their fireworks for the fourth of July, Louis Zamparini quietly slipped the bonds of this earth at the age of 97.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The 'H-O-A' and You

    If you live in Florida, homeowner associations (HOAs) are pretty much a fact of life. An HOA is a corporation formed, usually by a real estate developer, for the purpose of marketing, managing, and selling homes, condominiums, and apartments within a new residential development.

    July 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Guest Commentary: Public's right to know is a worthy legislative agenda

     Last week’s Texas Press Association convention in Corpus Christi served as a reminder to elected officials that We the People own the government. The reminder didn’t take the negative tone of a warning or a threat, but of positive reinforcement in recognizing four of those elected officials who defended the people’s right to a free flow of their information.

    July 6, 2014

AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates