Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

June 28, 2013

Letters to the Editor 6/29/13

Let the People Decide

To the Editor: It is very disconcerting that we live in a free society where the people have lost their voice. Although we are quick to criticize Washington, we the people, allow our local governments to do the same thing as Washington does: Spend our money without our approval.

In regards to the proposed renovation of the Navarro County Courthouse, the intent of Certificates of Obligation is for emergencies. When the responsibility of the elected body is to fund an emergency, they can do it quickly through Certificates of Obligations to protect the welfare of the citizens. The restoration of the Courthouse is not an emergency.

Personally, I am neither against nor for the restoration. I am for protecting the voice of the people. In my opinion, the issue should be put on the ballot for the people to decide. The lack of transparency of what this project will cost and the lack of effort to communicate these costs to Navarro County citizens are troubling. We the people want to be involved in this process.

The Commissioners Court is making a major decision that will affect our tax burden. The amount of the tax rate is unknown until we have hard numbers. The rate will also be determined by how long the Court decides to finance this project. It could be $0.02 per $100.00 valuation or more.

Navarro County’s State Representative co-sponsored a bill (HB14) that would require more transparency for Certificates of Obligations and to limit the abuse of issuing them in non-emergency situations. That message should be loud and clear to the Commissioners Court to put this on the ballot.

Please call the County Judge, your Commissioner and tell them that this should be a vote of the people.

Judge Davenport – 903-654-3025.

Commissioner Grant – 903-654-3031.

Commissioner Martin – 903-654-3032.

Commissioner Warren – 903-654-3033.

Commissioner Olsen – 903-654-3034.

Robert (Bobby) Vickery

Navarro County resident

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg When 'breaking news' was fragile

    The lesson, hammered by countless journalism teachers for century(s), was intended to be cattle-branded into minds of aspiring writers who would go forth to inform readers about what’s going on in the world. And it was emphasized that “getting it right” was preferable to “getting it first.”

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Highly questionable

    As you have probably surmised, I am just about addicted to my TV, and especially to jock shows throughout the day. I usually start my day with a couple hours of “Imus in the Morning,” just to broaden my horizons in the areas of politics, investments, current events, show business, and a plethora of other topics

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Technology versus common sense

    The gadgets of the future will include an internet-assisted backyard grill, according to news accounts this past week.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates