Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

January 6, 2014

Well, that’s just ducky..

To say that Duck Commander and the Duck Dynasty phenomenon has become a true dynasty of  commercialism is a gross understatement. I was aware that they had a huge market in the t-shirt, hat, and camouflage wear lines, but I was taken aback when I started to look into some of their other products. The sheer volume and scope of their products would seem to be greater than Martha Stewart, Rachael Ray, and Ron Popiel combined. Oh come on! Surely you remember Ron Popiel, of “Veg-O-Matic,” “Popiel Pocket Fisherman,” and the “Showtime Rotisserie - just set it and forget it!” fame. He also coined the beloved phrase, “But wait, there’s more!”

The A&E television series, Duck Dynasty, which features the Robertson clan of West Monroe, La., headed up by the senior brothers, Phil and Si, has developed a cult following of  tremendous proportions. In fact, in its fourth year, the program set A&E and cable TV ratings records with some 11.8 million viewers, and has been dubbed, “The most watched non-fiction cable series in history.” Just goes to show you - there really is no accounting for taste.

I guess most people already know that the clan got its start and built its fortune by producing duck calls - really good duck calls. In addition, the following is just a partial list of  Duck Dynasty products that are available through commercial outlets and mail-order or online purchases: Hunting clothing, action figures, Chia Pets, door mats, cigars, wine, Cajun Style Zesty Seasoning, Duck Dynasty printed duct (not duck) tape, wallets, watches, throw blankets, dog tags, and garden gnomes. The cutest product is edible cake-topper figurines which Phil says are, “...perfect for your wedding to a 15-year-old girl...”

They have produced hunting DVDs, books on religion, cookbooks, the Duck Dynasty Redneck Wisdom Board Game, and my favorite, “Si-Cology 1: Tales and Wisdom from Duck Dynasty’s Favorite Uncle.” They have also dabbled in the holiday music business with a single called, “Hairy Christmas,” and an album entitled “Duck the Halls: A Robertson Family Christmas.”

Text Only
Opinion
  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk mug Gotta love a small town

    There's so many things to love about living in a small town. Why just last week I got to hang out with my ex-husband, his folks, his wife and baby at the Youth Expo. Then just a day later, I got to see my other ex-husband and his wife at the hospital, when one of our daughters got sick and landed there.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jacobs, Janet.jpg Weird foods on our shelves

    The Atlantic magazine reported recently that sales of frozen pre-packaged dinners are falling and Nestle is considering selling off its Lean Cuisine food line.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates