Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

August 30, 2013

Letters to the Editor 8/31/13

Treasurer speaks out

To the Editor: The Office of County Treasurer in many counties also acts as the Human Resources Department (HR). That was the case in Navarro County when I took office in 2011. As we all know, HR is a critical function of any business or government entity.

Reviewing past budgets, however, I could not find budgeted HR money specifically allocated for continuing education on personnel issues or staff allocated to focus on this topic. It seems HR has been handled in the past as can and when can in the Treasurer’s Office.

Navarro County has almost 300 employees and according to the Chamber of Commerce is the seventh largest employer in Navarro County. The cost to the taxpayer for personnel and benefits is almost $14,000,000 each year. There are numerous state and federal laws that must be understood and navigated to abide by the law to prevent fines and litigation. HR is a critical issue for the county.

Personnel (HR) is the responsibility of the Commissioners Court. The court can delegate this duty to someone under their supervision. I researched with the County Clerk to determine if the Commissioners Court had ever delegated their personnel authority to the Treasurer’s Office. I could not find any such directive from the Commissioners Court. I can only assume over the years the Treasurer’s Office has been attempting to do a function not authorized or properly funded by the Court.

To resolve this critical issue, I proposed in this year’s budget a modest increase of $33,000 in the Treasurer’s budget to specially address the HR issue. The budget increase was specifically added for continuing education in personnel issues and assignment as part of their duties to an employee specializing in the HR function. I also requested a court resolution to authorize the Treasurer’s Office, under the direction of the court, to act on matters relating to personnel for the court.

As your Treasurer, it is my duty to protect the assets of our county. If the Treasurer’s Office is to properly function as HR, then it is my duty to have the personnel and budget to get it done professionally.  

Properly managing the HR function is a critical issue to protecting the assets of Navarro County. If you agree, please let your commissioner and the judge know about it.

Frank Hull

Navarro County Treasurer

Text Only
Opinion
  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk mug Gotta love a small town

    There's so many things to love about living in a small town. Why just last week I got to hang out with my ex-husband, his folks, his wife and baby at the Youth Expo. Then just a day later, I got to see my other ex-husband and his wife at the hospital, when one of our daughters got sick and landed there.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jacobs, Janet.jpg Weird foods on our shelves

    The Atlantic magazine reported recently that sales of frozen pre-packaged dinners are falling and Nestle is considering selling off its Lean Cuisine food line.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo