Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

August 30, 2013

Letters to the Editor 8/31/13

Treasurer speaks out

To the Editor: The Office of County Treasurer in many counties also acts as the Human Resources Department (HR). That was the case in Navarro County when I took office in 2011. As we all know, HR is a critical function of any business or government entity.

Reviewing past budgets, however, I could not find budgeted HR money specifically allocated for continuing education on personnel issues or staff allocated to focus on this topic. It seems HR has been handled in the past as can and when can in the Treasurer’s Office.

Navarro County has almost 300 employees and according to the Chamber of Commerce is the seventh largest employer in Navarro County. The cost to the taxpayer for personnel and benefits is almost $14,000,000 each year. There are numerous state and federal laws that must be understood and navigated to abide by the law to prevent fines and litigation. HR is a critical issue for the county.

Personnel (HR) is the responsibility of the Commissioners Court. The court can delegate this duty to someone under their supervision. I researched with the County Clerk to determine if the Commissioners Court had ever delegated their personnel authority to the Treasurer’s Office. I could not find any such directive from the Commissioners Court. I can only assume over the years the Treasurer’s Office has been attempting to do a function not authorized or properly funded by the Court.

To resolve this critical issue, I proposed in this year’s budget a modest increase of $33,000 in the Treasurer’s budget to specially address the HR issue. The budget increase was specifically added for continuing education in personnel issues and assignment as part of their duties to an employee specializing in the HR function. I also requested a court resolution to authorize the Treasurer’s Office, under the direction of the court, to act on matters relating to personnel for the court.

As your Treasurer, it is my duty to protect the assets of our county. If the Treasurer’s Office is to properly function as HR, then it is my duty to have the personnel and budget to get it done professionally.  

Properly managing the HR function is a critical issue to protecting the assets of Navarro County. If you agree, please let your commissioner and the judge know about it.

Frank Hull

Navarro County Treasurer

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg When 'breaking news' was fragile

    The lesson, hammered by countless journalism teachers for century(s), was intended to be cattle-branded into minds of aspiring writers who would go forth to inform readers about what’s going on in the world. And it was emphasized that “getting it right” was preferable to “getting it first.”

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Highly questionable

    As you have probably surmised, I am just about addicted to my TV, and especially to jock shows throughout the day. I usually start my day with a couple hours of “Imus in the Morning,” just to broaden my horizons in the areas of politics, investments, current events, show business, and a plethora of other topics

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Technology versus common sense

    The gadgets of the future will include an internet-assisted backyard grill, according to news accounts this past week.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates