Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

September 6, 2013

Letters to the Editor 9/7/13

Voter ID debate

To the Editor: In the Corsicana Daily Sun article (July 26, 2013), U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder is singling out Texas for legal action, following the U.S. Supreme Court ruling which struck down Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act. The Obama administration desires the federal court to re-instate its authority over voting laws in Texas. This action violates the U.S. Constitution’s allowance for states to set their own election laws.

Most Americans would think it is not racist to ask somebody to have a photo ID to confirm who they are. The Voter ID law does not impose any undue burden, because the DPS-issued election identification certificates are “free” for those who do not have a diver’s license or other acceptable photo IDs.

Voter fraud does exist. In 2012, there were 50,000 deceased voters on the Texas rolls and 213 voted in person, according to Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott. He has prosecuted more than 50 cases of voter fraud throughout Texas. The U.S. Supreme Court ruled that “voter ID laws are race neutral.”

Regarding re-districting, the state legislature approved the maps adopted by the federal court that were deemed friendlier to minority populations. Yet, as a result, it unseated State Representatives Raul Torres (HD 33), Jose Aliseda (HD 35), Aaron Pena (HD 40), and John Garza (HD 117), as well as U.S. Rep. Francisco “Quico” Canseco (CD 23) — all of them Hispanics. They won in predominately Hispanic district in 2010, but lost their seats due to the federal court’s re-districted maps in 2012.

Holder’s legal suit is more about politics than racial discrimination. The Obama administration’s action proves the Democrats are fearful that Republicans are attracting conservative Hispanic voters, a strategic obstacle to the Democratic National Party’s “Turn Texas Blue” campaign. They are using legal tools to disrespect Texas ballot integrity and to divide the Hispanic community.

Sincerely,

Steven L. Jessup

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Highly questionable

    As you have probably surmised, I am just about addicted to my TV, and especially to jock shows throughout the day. I usually start my day with a couple hours of “Imus in the Morning,” just to broaden my horizons in the areas of politics, investments, current events, show business, and a plethora of other topics

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Technology versus common sense

    The gadgets of the future will include an internet-assisted backyard grill, according to news accounts this past week.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates