Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

July 29, 2013

Camo-mania

O.K., it was on the last visit of our niece and her family to us on Golden Pond last December that I became aware of the “Duck Dynasty” phenomenon. In addition to my usual Houston Texans t-shirt, they gave me another one that blew my mind. It was a dirty UPS brown shirt with a picture of four camouflaged-clad, ZZ-Top looking wannabes glaring out with the caption, “Brothers of the Beard...Duck Dynasty.” I smiled graciously just like uncles have always done over Christmas ties, thanked them profusely, and then said, “Just what the heck is this?”

Casey and Billy were flabbergasted that I did not know about the Robinson Cartel of West Monroe, Louisiana, known throughout the free world as “Duck Dynasty.” On the outside chance you are not familiar with this backwoods “Dallas” hit reality show, I present the following overview of the Robinson family tree.

The patriarch of the clan is one Phil Robertson. In the early 1970s, he excelled as the starting quarterback at Louisiana Tech University (ahead of the then unknown Terry Bradshaw) and turned down a pro-football contract with the Washington Redskins because it would interfere with his hunting lifestyle and he didn’t want “...large, violent...men chasing me trying to stomp me in the dirt.” Phil is a legend in Louisiana and the duck-hunting world due to his unique “Duck Commander” duck calls fashioned from the wood of Louisiana cedar trees. About the time he began hand-crafting his duck calls, he married his grade-school and high school sweetheart, “Miss Kay” Robertson nee Caroway when she was 16 years old. The feisty Miss Kay is the real boss of the clan and cooks for the many family gatherings. No one can whomp up possum, squirrel, and ‘gater like Miss Kay. Phil and his whole clan are devout believers of the gospel of Jesus Christ and their family tree resembles one that might be found in the Old Testament.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Highly questionable

    As you have probably surmised, I am just about addicted to my TV, and especially to jock shows throughout the day. I usually start my day with a couple hours of “Imus in the Morning,” just to broaden my horizons in the areas of politics, investments, current events, show business, and a plethora of other topics

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Technology versus common sense

    The gadgets of the future will include an internet-assisted backyard grill, according to news accounts this past week.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates