Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

October 19, 2012

Message from the Mayor: Bond, insurance ratings

The City of Corsicana received notice last week that Standard and Poor’s, a credit rating agency, raised the revenue bond rating for the City of Corsicana from an A- to an A.  

The City Council adopted a financial policy in 2000 with the stated goal to achieve an A bond rating for both general obligation and revenue bond issues. In the slow climb to rebuild the City’s credit rating, this is another milestone. This is important to businesses and residents for many reasons. A higher rating allows the City to enjoy a lower interest rate when borrowing money for large projects, and is proof to the citizens that the city is on solid financial ground.

In addition, the Insurance Service Organization, ISO, conducted a survey of the City of Corsicana this year.  The evaluation included a review of the City’s fire department, water services, police department communications, permitting and inspection departments and was conducted in order to determine the City’s capabilities in these areas. The information obtained during the survey was used by ISO to determine and set the City’s Property Protection Classification, PPC. This classification is used by most insurance agencies to determine fire insurance rates for business and residential property owners.

The PPC Classification is based on a numerical scale from one to ten. A classification of one is considered the best classification a city can obtain. Corsicana currently has a classification of five and has held this classification for many years. The result of the current survey has lowered the classification to a four which should offer a reduction in the fire insurance premiums the citizens pay.

It is the City’s goal to reach an ISO rating of 3 in the future.  Work will continue toward that end.

Sincerely,

Chuck McClanahan

 Mayor

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk mug Gotta love a small town

    There's so many things to love about living in a small town. Why just last week I got to hang out with my ex-husband, his folks, his wife and baby at the Youth Expo. Then just a day later, I got to see my other ex-husband and his wife at the hospital, when one of our daughters got sick and landed there.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jacobs, Janet.jpg Weird foods on our shelves

    The Atlantic magazine reported recently that sales of frozen pre-packaged dinners are falling and Nestle is considering selling off its Lean Cuisine food line.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo