Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

October 12, 2012

Letters to the Editor 10/13/12

Disagrees with action

To the Editor: I am writing in response to the article “MHMR fails before council “on the front page of the Corsicana Daily Sun on Wednesday, Oct. 3, 2012. ...

Within the article on the City Coouncil meeting was the approval of a Specific Use Permit for the Remington to have a private club in order to serve alcoholic beverages.  Though legal, Alcohol is the drug of choice to self-medicate for many people.  Another statement made was, and I paraphrase, these services are needed but not in my area.  That is such an overused excuse.- Where do you want it-in an area that is totally inaccessible to anyone who needs help ?

I was the Executive Director of Navarro County MHMR Center for 20 years. For over 15 years, the Center was located at 920 N. Main St. which was at the corner of Main St. and Ave. F. Our close neighbors included two day care centers, a dance studio, a pharmacy, numerous residences, a gymnastics business, Brookshire’s, (where you can now buy beer and wine) and the State agencies within the Navarro Mall.  

These businesses were within a block of our building. For the entire time we were in that location we provided substance abuse counseling, as well as a full range of services to persons with mental illness. Some of our services were provided in the evening. We never received complaints from any neighbors because our clients were causing problems or loitering in the area.

This is a badly needed service in our community — a void that has stifled the road to recovery for many people. The limited choices are AA, NA or seeing a private therapist licensed to treat substance abusers.

Many studies are conducted yearly to estimate the cost of alcohol and drug abuse on society.  One recent joint study  by three federal agencies dealing with alcohol and drug abuse issues projects that the cost to society for alcohol and drug abuse is $965 for each for every man, woman and child in the United States.  

Based  on the 2000 Census, Navarro County has a population of 45,124. Using these figures,   the cost to Navarro County is $43,544,660 yearly in economic impact on Navarro County.

This is an issue that is already in your neighborhood, and mine.

We can’t change that impact without treatment options.

Sincerely,

Julie Lang

Former Director, Navarro County MHMR Center

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Spam french fries

    I saw a relatively disturbing video and article on Yahoo which touted making Spam French fires to go alongside your big old ground chuck burger. I just can’t imagine a basket full of these deep-fried cholesterol-loaded sticks, but there they were, bigger than Texas.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My TV is held hostage

    Give me back my TV! The Sunday sports fare today is just pitiful as far as I am concerned. Over the past weeks, my normal sports programs has been rudely preempted by endless hours of Wimbledon tennis, the Tour de France, assorted motor sports, and the nauseating mega-million signing sagas of LeBron James and Carmello Anthony

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Thoughts from abroad

    So, with the generosity of Mastercard and warm encouragement of my friends who went with me, I went to Italy on vacation. Not Italy, Texas, the one in Europe.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg For a community that’s hurting

    I think all would agree that our community is hurting right now.
    It seems like some weeks, our quota of tragedy and loss just goes through the roof. This is one of those weeks.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley An inspiring life

    Last week, while Americans prepared their fireworks for the fourth of July, Louis Zamparini quietly slipped the bonds of this earth at the age of 97.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The 'H-O-A' and You

    If you live in Florida, homeowner associations (HOAs) are pretty much a fact of life. An HOA is a corporation formed, usually by a real estate developer, for the purpose of marketing, managing, and selling homes, condominiums, and apartments within a new residential development.

    July 7, 2014 1 Photo