Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

May 3, 2013

Letters to the Editor 5/4/13

CISD Bond support

To the Editor: Education, in my opinion, is the key to solving the problems we face in today’s world. We owe it to every child in Corsicana to provide him/her with the tools to reach their fullest potential.  

One of the main reasons a company relocates to a community is its school system. People will not move to a city that does not have a progressive ISD.  

The school building I went to High School in is turning 90 years old this year and is still in use. And no, I was not in the first graduating class. The inside of our buildings contain wonderful teachers, administrators, support workers and kids.  

Unfortunately, when prospective companies and new citizens drive by our buildings they cannot see inside. All they see is overcrowding in our elementary schools with portable buildings, typical issues associated with 90 year old buildings, and they wonder if we are keeping up with the advances in technology.  

We have a great opportunity to address these issues. Will my taxes go up a little? Yes, but I consider this money well spent. It will come back to all of us many times over. Seldom do we have an opportunity to provide every child in Corsicana an improvement in his/her learning environment, and we have this opportunity now!

Even if you do not have a child or grandchild in Corsicana ISD, you may be helping that one child that someday discovers a cure for cancer. No school or community can remain status quo, they must grow, or they will fall behind.

Please vote “For” this growth and “For” the kids of our community.  

Randy Dill

Appreciates efforts

To the Editor: The Pasture Party held on April 20 to raise funds for the Navarro County Courthouse was undoubtedly a huge success.

There are a number of the founding members of the Corsicana Preservation Foundation, now retired from the Board, who would like to say well done and thank you to the Court House Restoration Committee for conceiving, implementing and organizing such a wonderful event.

Raising awareness in all of the citizens of Corsicana in respect of our history and the significance of our Courthouse is a major objective of the Foundation. It was pleasing to see so many young families in attendance as well as the support of the county judge and the commissioners for this event.

Thank you.

Judith P. Steely,

Past Chairman Corsican Preservation Foundation

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Deanna Kirk Water Park woes

    I’ve come to the realization that vacations are not a luxury, they’re a necessity.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Old, new, borrowed, blue

       Dissection of notes found in the pocket of an old suit isn’t easy. Maybe they were scrawled during the lull in a wedding ceremony, or to jog my memory of a joke for later use.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Spam french fries

    I saw a relatively disturbing video and article on Yahoo which touted making Spam French fires to go alongside your big old ground chuck burger. I just can’t imagine a basket full of these deep-fried cholesterol-loaded sticks, but there they were, bigger than Texas.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My TV is held hostage

    Give me back my TV! The Sunday sports fare today is just pitiful as far as I am concerned. Over the past weeks, my normal sports programs has been rudely preempted by endless hours of Wimbledon tennis, the Tour de France, assorted motor sports, and the nauseating mega-million signing sagas of LeBron James and Carmello Anthony

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Thoughts from abroad

    So, with the generosity of Mastercard and warm encouragement of my friends who went with me, I went to Italy on vacation. Not Italy, Texas, the one in Europe.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg For a community that’s hurting

    I think all would agree that our community is hurting right now.
    It seems like some weeks, our quota of tragedy and loss just goes through the roof. This is one of those weeks.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates