Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

May 3, 2013

Letters to the Editor 5/4/13

CISD Bond support

To the Editor: Education, in my opinion, is the key to solving the problems we face in today’s world. We owe it to every child in Corsicana to provide him/her with the tools to reach their fullest potential.  

One of the main reasons a company relocates to a community is its school system. People will not move to a city that does not have a progressive ISD.  

The school building I went to High School in is turning 90 years old this year and is still in use. And no, I was not in the first graduating class. The inside of our buildings contain wonderful teachers, administrators, support workers and kids.  

Unfortunately, when prospective companies and new citizens drive by our buildings they cannot see inside. All they see is overcrowding in our elementary schools with portable buildings, typical issues associated with 90 year old buildings, and they wonder if we are keeping up with the advances in technology.  

We have a great opportunity to address these issues. Will my taxes go up a little? Yes, but I consider this money well spent. It will come back to all of us many times over. Seldom do we have an opportunity to provide every child in Corsicana an improvement in his/her learning environment, and we have this opportunity now!

Even if you do not have a child or grandchild in Corsicana ISD, you may be helping that one child that someday discovers a cure for cancer. No school or community can remain status quo, they must grow, or they will fall behind.

Please vote “For” this growth and “For” the kids of our community.  

Randy Dill

Appreciates efforts

To the Editor: The Pasture Party held on April 20 to raise funds for the Navarro County Courthouse was undoubtedly a huge success.

There are a number of the founding members of the Corsicana Preservation Foundation, now retired from the Board, who would like to say well done and thank you to the Court House Restoration Committee for conceiving, implementing and organizing such a wonderful event.

Raising awareness in all of the citizens of Corsicana in respect of our history and the significance of our Courthouse is a major objective of the Foundation. It was pleasing to see so many young families in attendance as well as the support of the county judge and the commissioners for this event.

Thank you.

Judith P. Steely,

Past Chairman Corsican Preservation Foundation

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk mug Gotta love a small town

    There's so many things to love about living in a small town. Why just last week I got to hang out with my ex-husband, his folks, his wife and baby at the Youth Expo. Then just a day later, I got to see my other ex-husband and his wife at the hospital, when one of our daughters got sick and landed there.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jacobs, Janet.jpg Weird foods on our shelves

    The Atlantic magazine reported recently that sales of frozen pre-packaged dinners are falling and Nestle is considering selling off its Lean Cuisine food line.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo