Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

September 21, 2012

Letters to the Editor 9/22/12

— Decision Day

To the Editor: November 6, presidential election day, many Democrats and Republicans will vote not in “The Spirit of Love” but in “The Spirit of Hate.” Hank Williams Jr., a few weeks ago, entertained his southern audience at Billy Bob’s with the lyrics, “We have a Muslim for President,” and “We hate him.” No one got up and left!

On the local front, Charles Lennon in the Sept. 16 Daily Sun opinion page, in my opinion, is promoting hate. Mr. Lennon commented that people are waking up to the reality that we elected a dictator who hates America. Mr. Lennon suggests we pray for forgiveness. For what, I might ask?

I’d suggest Hank Williams Jr. and Mr. Lennon read “the Gospel according to John.”

Before the feast of the Passover, Jesus talks to his disciples about love and hate.

John 15:18 If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you.

Remember — when you hate or promote hate, you also are hating “our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.”

Jim Basham

Need more world news

To the Editor: I like the Corsicana Daily Sun. The only thing that concerns me is there is barely any national news, I take the Dallas newspaper, so I get most all the national news I need.  But, what about the people that don't take another paper?

We are having trouble big time in a lot of countries in the middle east right now, they have killed our Ambassador and other American people while we are there trying to help them. This started on 9/11. Now our President is playing this down saying it wasn't planned, they are just mad because someone made a movie they didn't like. If you watched it on TV it looked very well planned.  Whether it was planned or not, is not the question.

Why do we keep giving millions and billions of our hard earned dollars to terrorists that buy guns with that money. Does that make sense to anyone? They hate us, you can't make friends by giving them money.

Our country is broke, we can either print more money, or borrow it from China.

But wait. Why can't we just stop giving money to those who hate us?

Barbara A. Whitfield

Streetman,

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deanna Kirk mug Gotta love a small town

    There's so many things to love about living in a small town. Why just last week I got to hang out with my ex-husband, his folks, his wife and baby at the Youth Expo. Then just a day later, I got to see my other ex-husband and his wife at the hospital, when one of our daughters got sick and landed there.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jacobs, Janet.jpg Weird foods on our shelves

    The Atlantic magazine reported recently that sales of frozen pre-packaged dinners are falling and Nestle is considering selling off its Lean Cuisine food line.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates