Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

September 21, 2012

Letters to the Editor 9/22/12

— Decision Day

To the Editor: November 6, presidential election day, many Democrats and Republicans will vote not in “The Spirit of Love” but in “The Spirit of Hate.” Hank Williams Jr., a few weeks ago, entertained his southern audience at Billy Bob’s with the lyrics, “We have a Muslim for President,” and “We hate him.” No one got up and left!

On the local front, Charles Lennon in the Sept. 16 Daily Sun opinion page, in my opinion, is promoting hate. Mr. Lennon commented that people are waking up to the reality that we elected a dictator who hates America. Mr. Lennon suggests we pray for forgiveness. For what, I might ask?

I’d suggest Hank Williams Jr. and Mr. Lennon read “the Gospel according to John.”

Before the feast of the Passover, Jesus talks to his disciples about love and hate.

John 15:18 If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you.

Remember — when you hate or promote hate, you also are hating “our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.”

Jim Basham

Need more world news

To the Editor: I like the Corsicana Daily Sun. The only thing that concerns me is there is barely any national news, I take the Dallas newspaper, so I get most all the national news I need.  But, what about the people that don't take another paper?

We are having trouble big time in a lot of countries in the middle east right now, they have killed our Ambassador and other American people while we are there trying to help them. This started on 9/11. Now our President is playing this down saying it wasn't planned, they are just mad because someone made a movie they didn't like. If you watched it on TV it looked very well planned.  Whether it was planned or not, is not the question.

Why do we keep giving millions and billions of our hard earned dollars to terrorists that buy guns with that money. Does that make sense to anyone? They hate us, you can't make friends by giving them money.

Our country is broke, we can either print more money, or borrow it from China.

But wait. Why can't we just stop giving money to those who hate us?

Barbara A. Whitfield

Streetman,

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Spam french fries

    I saw a relatively disturbing video and article on Yahoo which touted making Spam French fires to go alongside your big old ground chuck burger. I just can’t imagine a basket full of these deep-fried cholesterol-loaded sticks, but there they were, bigger than Texas.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My TV is held hostage

    Give me back my TV! The Sunday sports fare today is just pitiful as far as I am concerned. Over the past weeks, my normal sports programs has been rudely preempted by endless hours of Wimbledon tennis, the Tour de France, assorted motor sports, and the nauseating mega-million signing sagas of LeBron James and Carmello Anthony

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Thoughts from abroad

    So, with the generosity of Mastercard and warm encouragement of my friends who went with me, I went to Italy on vacation. Not Italy, Texas, the one in Europe.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg For a community that’s hurting

    I think all would agree that our community is hurting right now.
    It seems like some weeks, our quota of tragedy and loss just goes through the roof. This is one of those weeks.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley An inspiring life

    Last week, while Americans prepared their fireworks for the fourth of July, Louis Zamparini quietly slipped the bonds of this earth at the age of 97.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The 'H-O-A' and You

    If you live in Florida, homeowner associations (HOAs) are pretty much a fact of life. An HOA is a corporation formed, usually by a real estate developer, for the purpose of marketing, managing, and selling homes, condominiums, and apartments within a new residential development.

    July 7, 2014 1 Photo