Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

February 8, 2013

Letters to the Editor 2/9/13

Presidential thoughts

To the Editor: The Corsicana Daily Sun reported President Barack Obama’s second inauguration (Jan. 22 issue), where he called upon Americans as “one nation and one people” to unite together and embrace his liberal agenda.

I was somewhat amused to read that President Obama had not seen the bronze Martin Luther King Jr. bust, which has been displayed inside the U.S. Capitol Rotunda since 1986. The President should spend more time there, to work with Congress.

President Obama swore on two Bibles to execute the Constitution, but he considers both to be irrelevant. That Friday, Jan. 25, before the week was over, a D.C. Court of Appeals three-judge panel ruled against the President for seating four of his nominees whom the Senate had blocked: three to the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) and one to the Consumer Financial Bureau. This is a violation of the Constitution separation of powers. The President cannot make “recess” appointments when the Senate is not in recess.

Obama’s inaugural address was more like a campaign speech. Yet, after four years, his words must be matched with action. He said, “We must make the hard choices to reduce the cost of healthcare and the size of our deficit.” In the past four years, spending has been out-of-control and America’s debt has skyrocketed. Four years and a $1.2 trillion stimulus bill, unemployment has grown from 7.3 percent to 7.8 percent. There is no bipartisan outreach in his speech, to get these accomplished in the second term.

Instead, it was wrong to link the homosexual civil rights movement to that of African-Americans. He mentioned the gay uprising at the Stonewall Inn of New York City’s Greenwich Village on June 28, 1969, as a watershed mark, within the same sentence as the Selma Al Pettus Bridge clash on March 7-9, 1965. If Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. heard that discrimination based upon the color of one’s skin was being compared to sexual sin, he would turn over in his grave.

Sincerely,

Steven L. Jessup

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Highly questionable

    As you have probably surmised, I am just about addicted to my TV, and especially to jock shows throughout the day. I usually start my day with a couple hours of “Imus in the Morning,” just to broaden my horizons in the areas of politics, investments, current events, show business, and a plethora of other topics

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Technology versus common sense

    The gadgets of the future will include an internet-assisted backyard grill, according to news accounts this past week.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Salute to 'Mr. Derrick Days'

    I can’t help but think back to the “near-death experience” that Derrick Days had 14 years ago, and how one man’s determination brought it back.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Resurrection

    I was 29-years-old when my father died of multiple myeloma, cancer of the bone marrow.  He was 53 years of age. Only hours before his death, I spoke with him. Our eyes met during that final visit, the same eye contact we had shared from my birth.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg It’s about time

    Some aspect of time steals quietly into our psyche in all conscious moments, and our use or abuse of it is central to much poetry, lyrics, scripts, conversations — you name it.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Wonderlic Test

    Did you hear the one about Texas A&M’s “Johnny Football” Manziel testing better than all the other quarterbacks in this year’s NFL Scouting Combine? No, this is not the start of an Aggie joke.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Work Out? Bite your tongue!

    I've shared this before, but it bears repeating. I'm a lot like my late, dear Daddy … whose idea of “working out” was a good, brisk sit.
    Amen, Daddy. Me too.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor for Saturday, April 12, 2014

    Thanks for service
    To the Editor: The Blooming Grove Elementary School would like to express appreciation to several individuals and businesses that for three years have provided a “free” vision exam and eyeglasses for many of our students.

    April 11, 2014

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Uncle Mort: For the Birds

    Personal experiences racked up across three-quarters of a century — including yips and yaps at lecterns spanning five decades — offer positive proof that many times, utter silence is preferable to spoken words.

    April 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg One-liners

    For many years, in a previous life, I had somewhat of a reputation as a master-of-ceremonies and I stayed relatively busy at that avocation. I never met a microphone I didn’t like

    April 7, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates