Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

December 8, 2012

Cooperative Efforts

(Continued)

Corsicana — I will never forget several years ago when my dear friend Major Chuck Anderson of The Salvation Army, prior to his untimely passing, gathered all the ministers, social agency heads, all the people who would have dealings with those “down on their luck,” and talked to us about how poor economic times were coming. Chuck said we hadn’t seen anything yet, and we needed to be proactive and get prepared.

I’m pleased to report that FBC is still dedicated to its commitment to feed the hungry and/or homeless every Monday at noon the late Bro. David Edwards made that day.  

Folks, those times Chuck predicted? They’re here. It may get worse, but right now, there are so many out there struggling just to eat and feed their families.

In this season of celebrating the birth of Jesus, let us not get so caught up in what Little Suzie wants from Santa, or who can have the most lights on their house, or even how bad we can max out our credit cards. Please let’s lift up in prayer and support those who are lonely, or ill, or grieving the loss of a loved one. Give us eyes to see those around us who need a helping hand, and reach out to give one.

———————————————————————————————————————————————————

Deanna Kirk is editorial assistant, Explore editor and Daily Sun staff writer. Contact her via email at dkirk@corsicanadailysun.com.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Deanna Kirk Water Park woes

    I’ve come to the realization that vacations are not a luxury, they’re a necessity.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Old, new, borrowed, blue

       Dissection of notes found in the pocket of an old suit isn’t easy. Maybe they were scrawled during the lull in a wedding ceremony, or to jog my memory of a joke for later use.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Spam french fries

    I saw a relatively disturbing video and article on Yahoo which touted making Spam French fires to go alongside your big old ground chuck burger. I just can’t imagine a basket full of these deep-fried cholesterol-loaded sticks, but there they were, bigger than Texas.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Dumb and dumber in the blotter

    When it comes to dumb criminals, nothing beats the would-be gang of car burglars who tried to break into a car in Tampa, Florida, this past week.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg ‘Change’ — old "buzz word" shows up in our town

    If you pay much attention when you’re driving around town lately (and I really hope that you do — pay attention, that is) you can’t help but admit we’ve seen some “change” as of late. And, contrary to the political connotations that word will forever carry with it now, that “change” we’re seeing is good.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Germany present and past

    Last Sunday evening my wife and I stood on the balcony of our apartment in Nuremberg and watched as fireworks lit up the sky.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Where strawberries are king

    In 1949, when Stilwell, Oklahoma’s “Strawberry Festival” was just one year old, crooners were applauded when they cut loose with Dear Hearts and Gentle People.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My TV is held hostage

    Give me back my TV! The Sunday sports fare today is just pitiful as far as I am concerned. Over the past weeks, my normal sports programs has been rudely preempted by endless hours of Wimbledon tennis, the Tour de France, assorted motor sports, and the nauseating mega-million signing sagas of LeBron James and Carmello Anthony

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Thoughts from abroad

    So, with the generosity of Mastercard and warm encouragement of my friends who went with me, I went to Italy on vacation. Not Italy, Texas, the one in Europe.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg For a community that’s hurting

    I think all would agree that our community is hurting right now.
    It seems like some weeks, our quota of tragedy and loss just goes through the roof. This is one of those weeks.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo