Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The 'H-O-A' and You

    If you live in Florida, homeowner associations (HOAs) are pretty much a fact of life. An HOA is a corporation formed, usually by a real estate developer, for the purpose of marketing, managing, and selling homes, condominiums, and apartments within a new residential development.

    July 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Guest Commentary: Public's right to know is a worthy legislative agenda

     Last week’s Texas Press Association convention in Corpus Christi served as a reminder to elected officials that We the People own the government. The reminder didn’t take the negative tone of a warning or a threat, but of positive reinforcement in recognizing four of those elected officials who defended the people’s right to a free flow of their information.

    July 6, 2014

  • deannakirk.jpg Updates on some friends

    So, lots of folks have asked me about the Bartons and the Arnetts.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Celebrating freedoms

    When our founding fathers signed the Declaration of Independence, John Adams envisioned celebrations in every city with parades, fireworks and political speeches “from one end of this continent to the other.”

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Duck calls and ‘The Swan’

    They’re famous  for duck calls in Monroe, Louisiana, and a few blocks away lives a Christian entertainer, Dr. Dennis Swanberg. Known as “The Swan,” he has long been known for impersonations that sound every bit as “real” to listeners as the calls do to ducks.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg ‘The View’ in turmoil

    “The View,” — love it or loathe it — is one of the stalwarts of the TV morning talk show genre. However, the panel of eclectic women has imploded over the last few months.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Some sights have me asking ‘really?’

    One of the things you’ll hear over and over again if you go to enough meetings, listen to enough chatter — or read enough Facebook — is the need to clean up our city.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Being a blessing

    Do you ever just look at some people and wonder, “How do they do it?”

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Guest Commentary: Dr. Rick Lamb

    There is an old saying that “the abuse of a harmless thing is the essence of sin.”

    June 27, 2014

  • Bill Tinsley Digital faith

    I am a digital immigrant. I was born into a world of rotary dial telephones and slide rules, cash registers that resembled slot machines, schools without air conditioning, encyclopedias that occupied an entire shelf in the book case and paper maps that unfolded to fill the entire front seat of the car. 

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates