Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • Janet Jacobs Thoughts from abroad

    So, with the generosity of Mastercard and warm encouragement of my friends who went with me, I went to Italy on vacation. Not Italy, Texas, the one in Europe.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg For a community that’s hurting

    I think all would agree that our community is hurting right now.
    It seems like some weeks, our quota of tragedy and loss just goes through the roof. This is one of those weeks.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley An inspiring life

    Last week, while Americans prepared their fireworks for the fourth of July, Louis Zamparini quietly slipped the bonds of this earth at the age of 97.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The 'H-O-A' and You

    If you live in Florida, homeowner associations (HOAs) are pretty much a fact of life. An HOA is a corporation formed, usually by a real estate developer, for the purpose of marketing, managing, and selling homes, condominiums, and apartments within a new residential development.

    July 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Guest Commentary: Public's right to know is a worthy legislative agenda

     Last week’s Texas Press Association convention in Corpus Christi served as a reminder to elected officials that We the People own the government. The reminder didn’t take the negative tone of a warning or a threat, but of positive reinforcement in recognizing four of those elected officials who defended the people’s right to a free flow of their information.

    July 6, 2014

  • deannakirk.jpg Updates on some friends

    So, lots of folks have asked me about the Bartons and the Arnetts.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Celebrating freedoms

    When our founding fathers signed the Declaration of Independence, John Adams envisioned celebrations in every city with parades, fireworks and political speeches “from one end of this continent to the other.”

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Duck calls and ‘The Swan’

    They’re famous  for duck calls in Monroe, Louisiana, and a few blocks away lives a Christian entertainer, Dr. Dennis Swanberg. Known as “The Swan,” he has long been known for impersonations that sound every bit as “real” to listeners as the calls do to ducks.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg ‘The View’ in turmoil

    “The View,” — love it or loathe it — is one of the stalwarts of the TV morning talk show genre. However, the panel of eclectic women has imploded over the last few months.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Some sights have me asking ‘really?’

    One of the things you’ll hear over and over again if you go to enough meetings, listen to enough chatter — or read enough Facebook — is the need to clean up our city.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates