Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The student-athlete

    I ran across an interesting article on Mr. Computer, written by a Yahoo Sports reporter, one Jay Busbee, which had the title, “Check out the terrible paper that earned a player an A- at North Carolina.”

    March 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Intelligent design

    Perhaps you have been following the story at Ball State University where the teaching of intelligent design has been prohibited. Eric Hedin, an Assistant Professor of Physics, promoted the idea to his students that the complex and intricate balance in nature reflects an intelligent design as opposed to a random series of accidental events.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Coaching beyond the game

    The stillest water at greatest depth has much in common with a recent retiree at Sul Ross State University in Alpine. Dr. Chet Sample also runs deep, having provided exemplary leadership that encouraged scholarship ahead of intercollegiate athletics.

    March 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Shades of the past

    We had a most pleasant visit this week from a dear old pal, Dave Lamb, from the early 1970s

    March 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The Octuple-bogey

    Like many golf fans, I really like John Daly and I root for him to do well when he is on the telly. When he is on his game, he can be very tough but, when he is off, he can be an embarrassment to the game.

    March 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Stay-At-Home Moms (and watch out for those Steers)

    As I write this, my baby girl and eldest grandson just left my office at Ye Olde Daily Planet, bound for their home in the country.
    It is significant because today was my daughter’s last day at a job she loved, and for which she showed great aptitude.

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Believe it or not

    “Believe.” It is an interesting word. Sometimes we use it to indicate doubt. If we are not entirely certain of something, we will say, “I believe so.”

    March 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Let the mockery begin

    I’ve written a couple of schmoopy columns lately, so clearly it’s time to get back to the juicy business of making fun of people in the news.

    March 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Leaving well enough alone

    So, for several years I was a Mary Kay beauty consultant. (Don’t go there.)
    The products were amazing, and I used them all.
    Know why I quit selling?
    Because they wouldn’t stop jacking with the products.

    March 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Consider the birds

    The birds are the first to wake each morning. I have listened in the predawn dark for the first twitter from the trees. Like sentinels they watch for the first faint glow in the east, and, long before the sun rises, they start their sunrise celebration.

    March 14, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates