Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • deannakirk.jpg Updates on some friends

    So, lots of folks have asked me about the Bartons and the Arnetts.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Celebrating freedoms

    When our founding fathers signed the Declaration of Independence, John Adams envisioned celebrations in every city with parades, fireworks and political speeches “from one end of this continent to the other.”

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Duck calls and ‘The Swan’

    They’re famous  for duck calls in Monroe, Louisiana, and a few blocks away lives a Christian entertainer, Dr. Dennis Swanberg. Known as “The Swan,” he has long been known for impersonations that sound every bit as “real” to listeners as the calls do to ducks.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg ‘The View’ in turmoil

    “The View,” — love it or loathe it — is one of the stalwarts of the TV morning talk show genre. However, the panel of eclectic women has imploded over the last few months.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Some sights have me asking ‘really?’

    One of the things you’ll hear over and over again if you go to enough meetings, listen to enough chatter — or read enough Facebook — is the need to clean up our city.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Being a blessing

    Do you ever just look at some people and wonder, “How do they do it?”

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Guest Commentary: Dr. Rick Lamb

    There is an old saying that “the abuse of a harmless thing is the essence of sin.”

    June 27, 2014

  • Bill Tinsley Digital faith

    I am a digital immigrant. I was born into a world of rotary dial telephones and slide rules, cash registers that resembled slot machines, schools without air conditioning, encyclopedias that occupied an entire shelf in the book case and paper maps that unfolded to fill the entire front seat of the car. 

    June 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Hither, thither and yawn

    Honest-to-goodness columnists who write scatter-shooting accounts on miscellaneous topics often refer to such pieces as “potpourri.” This has always impressed me, since my using the word always requires a visit to Webster or Google — my predictable response to a Spell Check squiggle.

    June 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Kiss my grits!

    I found an article on Yahoo News recently that really caught my attention. It seems that man in Tampa, Florida has been charged with attempted murder for hurling a scalding hot pot of grits on his neighbor during an altercation on his porch.

    June 23, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates