Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • Janet Jacobs Over the transom

    I get a lot of press releases each week ranging from the slightly newsy if you squint just right, to the outright bizarre. For those of you on Facebook, imagine getting updates from people you’ve never heard of all day long.

    June 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My hurricane preps

    Well, we are now officially into the 2014 hurricane season (June 1 through Nov. 30). After a relatively benign 2013 hurricane season, The Weather Channel is predicting another “below-average” season this year. They are mealy-mouthing about 11 to 12 named storms; five to six hurricanes; and two to three major hurricanes.

    June 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Celebrating the oldsters

    We must, must, must go to the news for this week’s updates of how crazy the world is. I begin with the robbery attempt of a convenience store in Moses Lake, Washington,

    June 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Blessings abundant

    Do you ever just start out a week, thinking it’s going to go a certain way, only to have everything flipped upside down and not one bit of the week turns out the way you pictured?

    June 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley When life overwhelms

    My cousin calls it “clumping” — those times when demands upon our life converge in a perfect storm.

    June 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Called to serve

    I will never know if the student was serious or simply smile-seeking when he scheduled a visit to my office a quarter-century ago.

    June 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Being 50-plus

    The Good Wife showed me a pullout from the April AARP Bulletin which I thought was kind of humorous. The page was entitled, “You Might as Well Laugh...Some of the best punch lines about being 50-plus.”

    June 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Advice to the graduates

    It’s graduation time, and since I have a column I get to offer the grads advice. Here’s my top 10:
    10. Learn a skill. Don’t just get a degree/diploma and think “I’ll hire someone to do the other stuff.”

    June 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Checking in

    I’m long overdue for an appearance on this page.
    As I tell folks I encounter that haven’t seen me in a while, “I don’t get out much anymore.”

    May 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor 5/31/14

    Fond farewell
    To the Editor: I am retiring from teaching at the end of this year and I would like to take a moment to say “Thank You” to everyone who has had a part in this journey. My 27 years in the field of education have been an adventure for which I will always be thankful.

    May 30, 2014

AP Video
Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates