Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Kiss my grits!

    I found an article on Yahoo News recently that really caught my attention. It seems that man in Tampa, Florida has been charged with attempted murder for hurling a scalding hot pot of grits on his neighbor during an altercation on his porch.

    June 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Linex publisher.jpg Clothing optional: Things change over time, but a fervor for information remains

    Two weeks ago, son No. 3 walked across the stage, to where ... we really don’t know. Now a high school graduate, his future remains uncertain. ... When I think back to my childhood, I can see the building blocks of what I do today taking shape.

    June 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Guest Commentary: Fred DuBose

    In the spring of 2013 I was in Clifton, Texas, visiting a couple of Corsicanans who retired there — Dave Megarity and Sue (Lynd) Megarity —when Dave told me a fascinating story

    June 18, 2014

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg The keyboard blues

    As I stare at this stupid keyboard for this stupid computer, I sadly observe that there are some 109 possible keys I could mash. I actually only know what half of them are for (basically the typewriter keyboard) but they suffice for my meager applications.

    June 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Significant dates

    Just what are the significance of dates?
    When it’s a Friday (as it is of this writing) and also happens to be the 13th, do you automatically expect bad things?

    June 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Over the transom

    I get a lot of press releases each week ranging from the slightly newsy if you squint just right, to the outright bizarre. For those of you on Facebook, imagine getting updates from people you’ve never heard of all day long.

    June 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My hurricane preps

    Well, we are now officially into the 2014 hurricane season (June 1 through Nov. 30). After a relatively benign 2013 hurricane season, The Weather Channel is predicting another “below-average” season this year. They are mealy-mouthing about 11 to 12 named storms; five to six hurricanes; and two to three major hurricanes.

    June 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Celebrating the oldsters

    We must, must, must go to the news for this week’s updates of how crazy the world is. I begin with the robbery attempt of a convenience store in Moses Lake, Washington,

    June 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Blessings abundant

    Do you ever just start out a week, thinking it’s going to go a certain way, only to have everything flipped upside down and not one bit of the week turns out the way you pictured?

    June 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley When life overwhelms

    My cousin calls it “clumping” — those times when demands upon our life converge in a perfect storm.

    June 5, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates