Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg My hurricane preps

    Well, we are now officially into the 2014 hurricane season (June 1 through Nov. 30). After a relatively benign 2013 hurricane season, The Weather Channel is predicting another “below-average” season this year. They are mealy-mouthing about 11 to 12 named storms; five to six hurricanes; and two to three major hurricanes.

    June 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Celebrating the oldsters

    We must, must, must go to the news for this week’s updates of how crazy the world is. I begin with the robbery attempt of a convenience store in Moses Lake, Washington,

    June 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Blessings abundant

    Do you ever just start out a week, thinking it’s going to go a certain way, only to have everything flipped upside down and not one bit of the week turns out the way you pictured?

    June 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley When life overwhelms

    My cousin calls it “clumping” — those times when demands upon our life converge in a perfect storm.

    June 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Called to serve

    I will never know if the student was serious or simply smile-seeking when he scheduled a visit to my office a quarter-century ago.

    June 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Being 50-plus

    The Good Wife showed me a pullout from the April AARP Bulletin which I thought was kind of humorous. The page was entitled, “You Might as Well Laugh...Some of the best punch lines about being 50-plus.”

    June 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Advice to the graduates

    It’s graduation time, and since I have a column I get to offer the grads advice. Here’s my top 10:
    10. Learn a skill. Don’t just get a degree/diploma and think “I’ll hire someone to do the other stuff.”

    June 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Belcher, Bob.jpg Checking in

    I’m long overdue for an appearance on this page.
    As I tell folks I encounter that haven’t seen me in a while, “I don’t get out much anymore.”

    May 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor 5/31/14

    Fond farewell
    To the Editor: I am retiring from teaching at the end of this year and I would like to take a moment to say “Thank You” to everyone who has had a part in this journey. My 27 years in the field of education have been an adventure for which I will always be thankful.

    May 30, 2014

  • Bill Tinsley Miracle of the mundane

    Did Jesus do dishes? The very question sounds sacrilegious. That might be the point. Sometimes our “religion” prism causes us to miss the real miracle about Jesus.

    May 29, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates