Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • Janet Jacobs Smoker no more

    So, I quit smoking.
    Of course, just admitting that I once smoked is almost sinful in this day and age, akin to admitting I used to sell heroin to orphans, but it’s different now than it was when I started.

    February 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Read a book

    No secret here, I was one of those odd children who would rather stay in her room reading books than play outside.
    Fortunately, little Nancy (the madre) limited our television watching, and video games included nothing but Pong on Atari at that time, so once you were done with your alloted 30 minutes of television viewing for the day, you were on your own.

    February 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Newbury Don NEW09.jpg Freedom to exhale

    So far as I know, none of my elementary schoolmates made it to the Metropolitan Opera — unless as a member of the audience, usher staff or clean-up crew.

    February 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Platt Dick 2012.jpg Pets are better

    I found a cute article on Yahoo that was entitled “10 Reasons Dogs Are Better Than Boyfriends,” which I think warrants some discussion.

    February 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs My favorite Olympic moment

    I love the winter Olympics.
    Not surprisingly, I’m not a very sportsy person. I was always a bit more bookish than athletic, so I don’t relate as well to that world as some people.

    February 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Vote Cook our choice for state representative

    When Byron Cook was elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 2002, it was a clear victory for Navarro County and District 8. It gave Corsicana and the county real representation in Austin. As voters, we need to keep that type of representation.

    February 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Light in a dark world

    Does it seem like everywhere you turn, people you love, care about, or just know slightly are being hammered?

    February 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the Editor 2/15/14

    In support of NCSO
    To the Editor: I have been reading about the salary problems Sheriff Tanner is having since being elected and the major problem with trying to keep qualified people.

    February 14, 2014

  • Bill Tinsley Was Jesus right?

    Jesus is universally respected. Even the followers of Islam claim him as a prophet. And millions who have no use for the church still like Jesus. But the question remains, “Was Jesus right?” “Did he know what he was talking about?”

    February 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Newbury Don NEW09.jpg High above it all

    Inside on TV news, talking heads described ravages of California wildfires raging across the landscape. Outside, my neighbor Josh was ready to climb into his pick-up, heading for his firefighting shift 40 minutes up the freeway.

    February 13, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates