Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Most is ‘right’ with the world

    It was a source of amusement — for folks outside my family, anyway — when my 27 fellow seniors “honored me” during our final year at Early High School in 1956.

    May 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg Class of ’57 fondly recalled

    I recently missed my high school’s annual “Blue and Gold” Alumni Dinner back in Winsted, Connecticut. It’s hard to believe that it has been 57 years since I graduated from Gilbert High School, but time does march on.

    May 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Janet Jacobs Car toys and joys

    So, last weekend the Raminator came to Corsicana.

    May 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg It’s all about mom

    In a tragic week, we need a little lightheartedness, I believe.
    First off, let me say a heartfelt Happy Mother’s Day to my own mother, Nancy Lee Dighton.

    May 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Mother’s Day thoughts

    This week we will honor our mothers. Husbands, sons and daughters will elbow their way to the greeting card displays in search of the perfect card. Florists will put on extra staff to handle the demand. Restaurants brace for business.

    May 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Peanut-pushers on the rise

    He would  be proud indeed to know of expanded use of peanuts resulting from his research in the field almost a century ago.

    May 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dick Platt 2014.jpg ‘Esta Viejo Gringo’

    I am an old “Gringo” who takes a great deal of pride in his cooking and I am especially proud of my Mexican specialties like green chili gravy, smothered burritos, tacos, tostadas, pico de gallo, and guacamole.

    May 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • deannakirk.jpg Accentuate the positive

    First off, let’s start with my opinion about Derrick Days. This is the opinion section of your hometown newspaper, after all.
    I thought Derrick Days was a fantastic success.

    May 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bill Tinsley Restoring takes on many meanings

    A few years ago I bought a 1977 VW Bug. Every fender was dented. Peeling paint fluttered in the wind and it had no bumpers. It was on its last legs. It even had “salvage” stamped in red letters across its title. Its next stop, if not with me, would probably be the junk yard.

    April 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Dr Don Newbury 2014.jpg Leave it to the dentist

    Until now, it’s been a teapot-sized tempest, bubbling on the edges of awareness, but when two corporate behemoths square off and a federal judge steps in, the issue heats quickly to full boil.

    April 30, 2014 1 Photo

AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
Featured Ads
Twitter Updates