From Staff Reports

Red Oak and Ennis dominated the superlative honors on the recently announced All-District 14-4A squad.

The Tigers (27-8) placed six players on the first team after advancing to the Region II-4A semifinals — the furthest playoff trip for any team in the district and the best season ever under head coach Tracy Wood.

Junior pitchers Stayton Thomas and Keith Leerskov joined classmates Mark Mayfield (catcher), Justise Contreras (first baseman) and Caleb Marx (third baseman) and senior Brian Smith (right-fielder) on the first team.

Thomas, Leerskov, Contreras, Marx and Smith were unanimous picks.

Second-team selections were junior Michael Schmidt (shortstop) and junior left-fielder Aaron Bland. Both were unanimous choices.

The Tigers lost to seventh-ranked Highland Park, 8-3, Thursday night in a regional semifinal contest at Frisco’s Dr Pepper Ballpark. The Tigers beat district champion Red Oak in the regional quarterfinals, while Ennis lost to U.S. Highway 287 rival Waxahachie in the area round.

Red Oak junior left-handed pitcher Chad McLin was voted MVP, while teammates Troy Elliott (Defensive Player of the Year), Aaron Brewer (Pitcher of the Year), Evan Martinek (Newcomer of the Year) and head coach Pete Hampel (Coach of the Year) also earned superlatives. McLin and Brewer will return for the Hawks in 2007.

Ennis sophomore Chris Lewis was named Sophomore of the Year, while Lions senior Justin Howard was tabbed Offensive Player of the Year. Howard, who pitched and played centerfield for Ennis will continue his baseball career in the outfield next season for Skip Johnson’s Navarro Bulldogs.

Most Valuable Player

Chad McLin, Jr., Red Oak*

Offensive Player of the Year

Justin Howard, Sr., Ennis

Defensive Player of the Year

Troy Elliott, Sr., Red Oak

Pitcher of the Year

Aaron Brewer, Jr., Red Oak*

Sophomore of the Year

Chris Lewis, Soph., Ennis

Newcomer of the Year

Evan Martinek, Sr., Red Oak

Coach of the Year

Pete Hampel, Red Oak

First Team All-District


Keith Leerskov, Jr., Corsicana*

Trent Montgomery, Sr., Athens*

Stayton Thomas, Jr., Corsicana*


Mark Mayfield, Jr., Corsicana


Justise Contreras, Jr., Corsicana*

Caleb Marx, Jr., Corsicana*

Matt Curry, Sr., Red Oak*

Adam De La Garza, Sr., Red Oak*

Rusty Collins, Soph., Ennis*

Wesley Starkes, Jr., Athens*


Brian Smith, Sr., Corsicana*

Casey Slape, Sr., Red Oak*

Brandon Warren, Sr., Athens*

Charlie Hankins, Sr., Athens*

Edwin Rand, Sr., Lancaster*


Hugo Valdez, Jr., Athens

Designated Hitter

Weston Montgomery, Soph., Ennis*

Second Team All-District


Bobby Howell, Sr., Ennis*

Brant Radcliff, Jr., Athens*

Kolten Browning, Fr., Mabank*

Gary Goldman, Sr., Red Oak*


Andrew Ford, Sr., Red Oak


Cory Strouth, Sr., Mabank*

Michael Schmidt, Jr., Corsicana*

Ryan Skelton, Sr., Red Oak

Wes Ball, Sr., Ennis*

Cody Smith, Sr., Athens*

Seth Jezek, Sr., Athens*


Aaron Bland, Jr., Corsicana*

Andy Lucas, Sr., Ennis*

Mikey Shelton, Jr., Mabank*

Andrew Cochran, Sr., Ennis*

Designated Hitter

C.J. Holloway, Jr., Ennis*

* denotes unanimous pick

This Week's Circulars