Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

June 3, 2013

GC Softball: Saucke MVP of 11-A team

From Staff Reports
Corsicana Daily Sun

Corsicana — Hubbard’s Kate Saucke had another one of those impossible, memorable years that kids and coaches dream about, and it was little surprise that she was named the District 11-1A MVP when the all-district team was chosen.

She’s only a junior.

Saucke, who was a star as a sophomore, will be back next year at Hubbard, where she was the top third basemen in the district and the league’s best overall player. She was solid at third and batted .558 to lead the Lady Jags to a 24-7-1 record and to the Region II-1A finals. Saucke hit a pair of homers and drove in 46 runs. She also scored 43 runs, stole eight bases and hit a dozen doubles and three triples.

Hubbard’s Olivia Curtis, a junior pitcher and second baseman who hit .441 and went 11-3-1 with a 1.60 ERA, was named the district’s utility player of the year and Hubbard’s Amy Anz was the district’s catcher of the year. Anz had a .505 slugging percentage and drove in 36 runs.

Hubbard landed four players on the first-team. Dallas Fletcher, a senior shortstop who hit .413 while belting six homers and driving in 34 runs, and Jessica Williams, a senior first baseman who had a .786 slugging percentage and a .480 batting average, were both named all-district infielders. Nakaila Banks was named to the first-team outfield. Banks, a junior, hit .392 with three homers and scored 35 runs. Hubbard’s Sadie Simmons was named to the first-team as a pitcher. Simmons, a sophomore who pitched and played second base, went 9-2 with a 2.30 ERA while batting .333.

Wortham’s Allison Nix, a freshman who hit .674, was named the district’s newcomer of the year, and Wortham’s Sarah Sessions, a junior third baseman who hit .422, was named one of two first-team designated hitters. Dawson’s Demi Dotson, a junior third baseman who hit .459 and stole 28 bases, was named to the first-team infield, and Dawson’s Jalyn Miller, a sophomore who batted .295, was named to the first-team outfield.


District 11-1A All-District Softball Team

MVP — Kate Saucke, Jr., Hubbard

Offensive MVP
— Kaymee Gooden, Sr., Mart

Defensive MVP — CyAndria Newton, So., Bosqueville

Pitcher —  Chole Brignac, So., Mart and Lizzie Donaldson, Fr., Bosqueville

Newcomer of the Year — Allison Nix, Fr., Wortham

Utility — Olivia Curtis, Jr., Hubbard

Catcher —Amy Anz, Jr., Hubbard



Katelyn Veteto, Jr., Bosqueville

Blake McCulloch, Jr., Avalon


Kailey Leighty, So., Bosqueville

Sadie Simmons, So., Hubbard


Demi Dotson, Jr., Dawson

Jessica Williams, Sr., Hubbard

Dallas Fletcher, Sr. , Hubbard

Alex Turner, So., Axtell

Kaitelyn Smith, Fr., Mart

Kay Light, Sr., Bosqueville


Nakaila Banks, Jr., Hubbard

Kassidi Franklin, So., Mart

Aaliyah Lewis, Fr. , Bosqueville

Jalyn Miller, So., Dawson


Hailey Anderson. Fr., Bosqueville

Sarah Sessions, Jr., Wortham



Stormi Matthews, Jr., Dawson


Cheyenne Goodnight, Sr., Mart

Hannah Greer, Sr., Dawson


Ashlyn Engledow, So., Axtell

Angel Pina, So., Axtell

Amber Robinson, Jr., Mart

Kendie Rhoads, Fr.,  Wortham

Clara Williams, Sr. ,Bosqueville


Makala Bounds, Fr., Bosqueville

Jessilyn Armstrong, Sr., Axtell

Katlin Brown, Sr., Hubbard

Kari Carroll, Fr., Mart


Alyssa Ramirez, So., Axtell

Honorable mention


Ashley Boatwright

Megan Evans

Stephanie Lindsey


Megan Walter, Jr.

Hailey Davidson, Jr.


Elisha Libhart, So.

Brooke Saulsbury, Fr.

Gabby Miller, So.

Larrissa Rivera, Jr.