Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

Sports

November 13, 2013

GC Football: Playoff Preview — Blooming Grove set for rematch with Jacksboro

Corsicana — This time could be different.

At least that’s the way they feel at Blooming Grove, where the Lions enter the Region II 2A DII first round of the playoffs Friday night at Desoto’s Eagle Stadium against Jacksboro.

If that matchup rings a bell, it’s because the two teams met in the same bi-district round of the playoffs last year, and Jacksboro won 28-13.

The Lions would love to get some revenge and make a statement in the playoffs at the same time.

They will be underdogs.

But even though Jacksboro is 8-2 and the Tigers have won eight in a row, there’s a different feeling at Blooming Grove, which entered last year’s playoffs after a long drought of being in he playoffs. .

“Our kids now have the experience of being in a playoff game,’’ Blooming Grove Coach Gary Grubbs said. “The unknown factor isn’t there any more, and we know who we’re playing because we played them last year.’’

It’s more than the familiarity that makes the Lions, who are 6-4, feel they can win. They came back in the second half last year and outscored Jacksboro, 13-7 in last year’s loss.

“When it was all said and done last year we felt like we could have won the game,’’ Grubbs said. “I think the kids who played in that game last year will come out and be a lot more aggressive and play with a lot more confidence.

“I think it will make a tremendous difference. Last year we went into halftime and we were down 21-0, and the kids looked at each other and said, ‘Hey, we can play with these guys.’  I think it will make a difference this year.

Grubbs also likes his offense.

“I think we’re a little  more balanced,’’ he said. “We spread the ball around quite a bit. We attack you at different angles.’’

The Lions do have a 1,000-yard rusher, but three players — Travis Whiteside, Tyler Morris and quarterback Tyler Ellis — have combined to run for 2,355 yards. Whiteside leads the pack with 1,015 yards Ellis throws enough to keep teams honest, and the Lions have a big and talented offensive line.

But more than anything, Grubbs knows that playoff experience is priceless.

Text Only
Sports
  • 7-31-14 Jae.jpg GC Volleyball Summer Tour: Frost set for a big season

    Everybody's back at Frost.
    Yes, everybody.
    “This will probably never happen again,'' said Frost volleyball Coach Elaine Woods, who returns every player from last year's team.
    They are not only back, but they are talented — arguably the most talented group of volleyball players in Frost history.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-30-14 Davis.jpg Former Cowboy Keith Davis delivers motivational speech

    Keith Davis believes in dreams.
    He lived his.
    That was one of the messages Davis, a former Dallas Cowboys safety, delivered to a standing-room-only crowd of youngsters Tuesday at the Boys & Girls Club, where he spoke with enthusiasm and energy about life inside and outside of the NFL.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-30 web Wortham TTBA picture.jpg TTBB: Wortham takes second at state tournament

    The Wortham Bulldogs made an impressive run at the Texas Teenage Baseball Association High School Eligible State Tournament in Buffalo and took second in the state.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-29-14 tiger sharks.jpg Tiger Sharks make splash at state meet

    There are leaps and bounds, and then there's what the Corsicana YMCA Tiger Sharks did over the weekend at the Lone Star state swimming meet in Frisco.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-27 Shimonek all-star.jpg Mildred's Shimonek transferring from Iowa, will walk on at Texas Tech

    Former Mildred quarterback and Golden Circle Del Thrash Player of the Year Nic Shimonek is leaving the University of Iowa after one red-shirt year and transferring to Texas Tech because of Iowa's pro-style offense.

    July 28, 2014 2 Photos

  • GC Baseball/Softball: Mildred names Zamzow new baseball coach; AD Chambliess to coach softball again

         The Mildred Eagles didn’t have to go far to find a new baseball coach to replace Aaron Tidwell, who left the diamond to take the job as the principal of Mildred High School.
        On Saturday, Mildred named softball coach Brett Zamzow its new baseball coach as Zamzow, who was Tidwell's assistant for five years,  moves back to baseball after spending a year coaching softball.
        To complete the move Mildred Athletic Director Billy Dan Chambliess will take over the softball team. Chambliess, who is the head football coach, spent fours years coaching softball before becoming the school’s AD last year. All four of his teams won district titles.
     

    July 26, 2014

  • RON MORGAN.jpg Morgan; Remembering House and a better era

    The Cowboys started training camp the same week that Robert Newhouse died.
    In a way, that’s very unfortunate for Jerry. Thinking back to the “Human Bowling Ball” and the teams of that era might lead to the inevitable comparisons to today’s product on the field.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • weights.jpg GC Football: Blooming Grove's Williams expects to win

    His father was a head coach for years at Pecos High and his brother-in-law is the head football coach at DeSoto, but Lawrence Williams Jr., a man who loves coaching football, never had any ideas about being the head man.
    “I love coaching,'' said Williams as he sat at his desk in Blooming Grove, where he became the Lions' head coach this summer. “I just never thought about being the head coach and I never applied to be a head coach. With this job I can still coach.''

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kevin Reese mug.jpg Outdoors: Kevin Reese: Summer time means summer tracking

    With only two months before opening day of archery season you should already have your bow maintenance complete, be shooting daily and chomping at the bit for our favorite day to arrive!
    Let’s face it, few animals turn our rotors like whitetail deer.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • All-State Baseball: Corsicana's Harlan and Wolver honored on TSWA/Collin Street Bakery 4A All-State Baseball team

    Corsicana junior Brady Harlan and sophomore Layton Wolver were honored on the Texas Sports Writers Association/Collin Street Bakery Class 4A All-State Baseball team that was announced Tuesday night.

    July 22, 2014