Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas


February 20, 2014

GC Basketball: Mildred coach and players dominate 23-2A All-District girls team

Corsicana — Mildred’s  Lady Eagles, who had one of the best seasons in school history, reaped some well deserved  post-season honors when the District 23-2A all-district basketball team was released Thursday.

Three Lady Eagles were named to the first team and Coach Dale Clement was named the Co-Coach of the Year along with Buffalo’s Jozette Jenkins.

Mildred’s Allison Hierholzer, a senior who averaged 15 points a game and had a career-high 32-point night in the playoffs, was named to the first team along with senior Shelby Adamson, who had a double-double for the season, averaging 12 points and 13 rebounds a game. Mildred’s sensational sophomore point guard Maddie Moore, who handed out six assists a night and averaged eight points while running the offense like a quarterback, was also named to the first team.

Mildred’s Callie Bland, a senior guard and defensive specialist who was the catalyst for Mildred holding nine of its 12 district opponents to 35 points or less, and Morgan McCreary, a junior who played the wing and was known for her tough defense and hard-nose play, were named to the second team.

Rice’s Ashton Metcalfe, a senior who led the Lady Bulldogs all year, Blooming Grove sophomore Hannah Southard, who led the Lady Lions, were also named to the second team.

Mildred’s Hierholzer, Bland and Adamson were all named to the District 23-2A All-Academic team.


Here’s a look at the entire 23-2A team

District MVP- Tayla Taylor (Sr.) Marlin

Offensive POY- Savannah Martinez (Soph) Riesel

Co-Defensive POY- Jordan Jenkins (Fr.) Buffalo, Alie Watson (Jr.) Teague

Newcomer of the Year- Hope Scales Teague

Coach of the Year- Dale Clement Mildred, Jozette Jenkins Buffalo

1st Team

Allison Hierholzer (Sr.) Mildred

Shelby Adamson (Sr.) Mildred

Maddie Moore (Soph.) Mildred

Macy Hoffman (Soph.) Buffalo

Allison Grissett (Soph.) Buffalo

Jessica Presutti (Sr.) Buffalo

Alyssa Mortimer (Sr.) Riesel

Caitlyn Collins (Jr.) Teague

Kenya Busby (Sr.) Teague

Nicosha Nelms (Sr.) Teague

2nd Team

Callie Bland (Sr.) Mildred

Morgan McCreary (Jr.) Mildred

Taryn Mormon (Jr.) Buffalo

Lauren Helmcamp (Jr.) Buffalo

Marissa Jones (Jr.) Buffalo

Ashton Dunlap (Sr.) Riesel

Ashton Metcalfe (Sr.) Rice

Christin Griffin (Soph.) Marlin

Hannah Southard (Soph.) Blooming Grove

Danielle McWilliams (Jr.) Teague

Jasmine McQuirter (Soph.) Teague

Mildred Academic All-District

Allison Hierholzer

Callie Bland

Shelby Adamson

Mildred Honorable Mentions

Maddie Murrell

Addi Ward


Text Only
  • 4-24-14Bland.jpg GC Bi-District Softball: Mildred rips Trinity 10-1

    This was easy.
    Almost too easy.
    It's going to get tougher on the road in the playoffs, and maybe that's why Mildred's 10-1 romp over Trinity in the opening game of the three-game series in the Class 2A bi-district round of the playoffs felt so good to the Lady Eagles.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • GC Softball Bi-District roundup: BG beats New Waverly 3-2; Hubbard downs Itasca 5-3

    It didn't end until Mariah Horner squeezed her glove and hauled in the final out of the game in right field on Thursday night in Madisonville, where Horner and the Blooming Grove Lady Lions hung on to beat New Waverly 3-2 in the opening games of a three-game series in the Class 2A bi-district playoffs.

    April 24, 2014

  • CHS SotfballSpence.jpg GC Softball: Playoff Time

    There  were some bumps on the road and slides in the standings and a few bruises along the way, but five Golden Circle teams have reached the softball playoffs that begin with first round games on Thursday.
    For Corsicana it was a wakeup call during the second half of district play that gave the Tigers the push they needed, and for Mildred it was the culmination of yet another splendid season as the Lady Eagles made the playoffs for the fifth straight season. Blooming Grove is back again, a regular in post season play with a chance to make a run, and Hubbard begins its quest to get to the state tournament and Austin with a one-game playoff on Thursday against Itasca in Italy.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NVSBAhearn.jpg Navarro Softball: Bulldogs split with Kilgore, win final home game

    Kristen Ahearn was mad, steaming.
    Even her peanut butter and jelly sandwich that she ate between the doubleheader games didn't taste good. Nothing fit. Nothing was in sync. Nothing felt right or even tasted right.
    Then Ahearn found the cure.
    Simple enough: Just go out and blast a three-run homer.
    That's the short version of what happened Tuesday at Navarro College, where Ahearn's three-run bomb ignited the Bulldogs in the second game against Kilgore and Navarro went on to win 8-5 to close out its regular season with a bang and a smile from Ahearn.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KerensBBAnderson.jpg GC Baseball: Kerens beats Cayuga 5-1, wins first district title since 1981

    The wait is over.
    And it came just in time for Brett Anderson, who left it all on the mound Tuesday night at Kerens, where he pitched a masterpiece to lead the Bobcats over Cayuga, 5-1, and help the program win its first baseball district title since 1981.
    “I've got no gas left. I'm out,'' said Anderson, a senior lefty who stopped Cayuga cold, holding the three-time defending district champs to just three singles while striking out 14.

    April 22, 2014 2 Photos

  • GC Basebal Roundup: Corsicana blasts Jacksonville; BG wins huge district game

    The Corsicana Tigers wrapped up district play with a dominating 9-0 win over the Jacksonville Indians behind Trevor Nolen, who shut out the Indians and allowed only one hit over 6 1/3 innings.  Donovan Fields came on to retire the final two hitters. The Tiger pitchers limited the Indians to only 25 plate appearances in the game and no runner to reach third base.

    April 22, 2014

  • 4-23-14 Rodeo clown.jpg Rodeo: Navarro County Derrick Days -- Burton is back

    He's back.
    Professional rodeo entertainer Ronald Burton returns to the Navarro County Exposition Center  April 25-26 to entertain the crowd at the 2014 Navarro County Derrick Days Pro Rodeo.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Huggins rodeo Huggins to call shots at Derrick Days Rodeo

    West Huggins will serve as the announcer for the 2014 Navarro County Derrick Days Pro rodeo. The Gardendale native is the reigning three-time United Professional Rodeo Association Announcer of the Year.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NC baseball Whoa 300th Dill gets 300th win in Navarro baseball sweep of Bossier Parish

    Navarro baseball’s weekend in Louisiana was significant on a number of fronts. On one hand, coach Whoa Dill notched his 300th win. On the other, and perhaps more importantly, the Bulldogs simply continued to play well. The Bulldogs swept Bossier Parish to move 14-11 in Region XIV East Zone play, and 27-17 overall.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Mildred sending five to regional track meet

    Sasha Ballard set a school record in the 800 meters and paced a contingent of five Mildred thinclads heading to Stephenville for the regionals later this week.

    April 21, 2014