Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas


March 4, 2014

GC Basketball: Kerens dominates 18-1A DI girls All-District team

Corsicana — The Kerens LadyCats, who went undefeated in district, dominated the District 18-1A DI All-District girls basketball team that was announced Tuesday.

Not only did Denise Lincoln win the Coach of the Year but Breanna Baxter was named the district MVP and Marqueshia Kelly was the district’s Defensive MVP.

Three other Kerens starters were named to the first team and two LadyCats earned second team honors.

Lincoln, who led Kerens to a 29-5 record and to its first appearance in a state title game, was a slam dunk choice for Coach of the Year.

Baxter averaged 14.1 points, 6.5 rebounds and 2.8 steals a game and had a brilliant season for Kerens. She was also the MVP of the Kiwanis Tournament. Kelly, a four-year starter who won 112 games while she was a LadyCat, was a force on defense and blocked as many as eight shots in a game this season. Lincoln often called her “a defensive specialist.’’ Kelly averaged 9.2 points, 8.0 rebounds and 2.5 blocked shots a game.

Wortham’s Kendle Rhodes, a sophomore, was named the district’s Co-Sixth Man of the Year winner.

 Kerens had three players named to the first team. Taylor Ames, a four-year starter, led the LadyCats all year and in the playoffs, averaging more than 20 points during Kerens’ playoff run to the state title game. She averaged 16 points a game for the season and 3.2 rebounds from her guard spot. She was joined on the first team by Cambree Betts, a senior and three-year starter who averaged  12 points and 2.6 assists a game, ad Kiara Lindsey, a senior who set the tone for Kerens’ unrelenting defense that forced turnovers all during the season. Lindsey was the catalyst during the playoff run when Kerens forced 158 turnovers over its final four games against the best teams in Texas.

Tinesha Tolliver and Emmanuella Armant, who both came off the bench and had impact for Kerens, were named to the second team.

Wortham’s Kiera Busby, who suffered a knee injury and couldn’t complete the season, was so dynamic she still earned first-team honors. Wortham’s Kamarie Freeman and Sara Sessions were named to the second team.

Dawson’s Jayln Miller was a first-team choice and Stephanie Lindsey and Kaylee Martinez made the second team.

Hubbard’s Tia Parks and Jasmine Parks earned first-team honors and Shayla Parks and Kate Sauke made the second team.

Here’s the complete District 18-1A DI team

Text Only
  • 7-31-14 Jae.jpg GC Volleyball Summer Tour: Frost set for a big season

    Everybody's back at Frost.
    Yes, everybody.
    “This will probably never happen again,'' said Frost volleyball Coach Elaine Woods, who returns every player from last year's team.
    They are not only back, but they are talented — arguably the most talented group of volleyball players in Frost history.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-30-14 Davis.jpg Former Cowboy Keith Davis delivers motivational speech

    Keith Davis believes in dreams.
    He lived his.
    That was one of the messages Davis, a former Dallas Cowboys safety, delivered to a standing-room-only crowd of youngsters Tuesday at the Boys & Girls Club, where he spoke with enthusiasm and energy about life inside and outside of the NFL.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-30 web Wortham TTBA picture.jpg TTBB: Wortham takes second at state tournament

    The Wortham Bulldogs made an impressive run at the Texas Teenage Baseball Association High School Eligible State Tournament in Buffalo and took second in the state.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-29-14 tiger sharks.jpg Tiger Sharks make splash at state meet

    There are leaps and bounds, and then there's what the Corsicana YMCA Tiger Sharks did over the weekend at the Lone Star state swimming meet in Frisco.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-27 Shimonek all-star.jpg Mildred's Shimonek transferring from Iowa, will walk on at Texas Tech

    Former Mildred quarterback and Golden Circle Del Thrash Player of the Year Nic Shimonek is leaving the University of Iowa after one red-shirt year and transferring to Texas Tech because of Iowa's pro-style offense.

    July 28, 2014 2 Photos

  • GC Baseball/Softball: Mildred names Zamzow new baseball coach; AD Chambliess to coach softball again

         The Mildred Eagles didn’t have to go far to find a new baseball coach to replace Aaron Tidwell, who left the diamond to take the job as the principal of Mildred High School.
        On Saturday, Mildred named softball coach Brett Zamzow its new baseball coach as Zamzow, who was Tidwell's assistant for five years,  moves back to baseball after spending a year coaching softball.
        To complete the move Mildred Athletic Director Billy Dan Chambliess will take over the softball team. Chambliess, who is the head football coach, spent fours years coaching softball before becoming the school’s AD last year. All four of his teams won district titles.

    July 26, 2014

  • RON MORGAN.jpg Morgan; Remembering House and a better era

    The Cowboys started training camp the same week that Robert Newhouse died.
    In a way, that’s very unfortunate for Jerry. Thinking back to the “Human Bowling Ball” and the teams of that era might lead to the inevitable comparisons to today’s product on the field.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • weights.jpg GC Football: Blooming Grove's Williams expects to win

    His father was a head coach for years at Pecos High and his brother-in-law is the head football coach at DeSoto, but Lawrence Williams Jr., a man who loves coaching football, never had any ideas about being the head man.
    “I love coaching,'' said Williams as he sat at his desk in Blooming Grove, where he became the Lions' head coach this summer. “I just never thought about being the head coach and I never applied to be a head coach. With this job I can still coach.''

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kevin Reese mug.jpg Outdoors: Kevin Reese: Summer time means summer tracking

    With only two months before opening day of archery season you should already have your bow maintenance complete, be shooting daily and chomping at the bit for our favorite day to arrive!
    Let’s face it, few animals turn our rotors like whitetail deer.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • All-State Baseball: Corsicana's Harlan and Wolver honored on TSWA/Collin Street Bakery 4A All-State Baseball team

    Corsicana junior Brady Harlan and sophomore Layton Wolver were honored on the Texas Sports Writers Association/Collin Street Bakery Class 4A All-State Baseball team that was announced Tuesday night.

    July 22, 2014