Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

June 4, 2013

GC Baseball: Martinez, Dawson top 11-1A all-district

From Staff Reports
Corsicana Daily Sun

Corsicana — Dawson’s deep run in the Class 1A state playoffs that ended in the Region II-1A semifinals saw the Bulldogs emerge as the last baseball team standing in the Golden Circle.

It also saw a long list of players produce remarkable seasons, and the end result was an avalanche of Bulldogs landing on the District 11-1A All-District baseball team.

Mark Martinez was named the MVP of the district and Louis Lachney shared the offensive player of the year honors with Wortham’s Devin Sessions and Mart’s De’Nerian Thomas. Dawson’s Jared Gray shared defensive player of the year honors with Wortham’s Chris Lee, while Dawson’s Trent Underwood was the district’s pitcher of the year. It was a no-brainer for the district to name Dawson’s Bo Moore as the coach of the year. The Bulldogs, who went 20-9, also had three players named to the first-team.

Martinez, a senior, batted .426 with a .541 OBP. He drove in 27 runs, hit 13 doubles and stole six bases. If that wasn’t enough, Martinez went 4-2 with 3.00 ERA on the mound and struck out 40 batters in just 33 innings. Lachney, a senior, batted .446, drove in 18 runs and stole 23 bases. He went 4-2 on the mound with a 2.17 ERA. He struck out 34 batters in 35 innings. Gray, a sophomore, hit. 373 with 10 doubles, two triples and 16 RBIs. Underwood, a junior, went 6-2 with a 3.07 ERA and had 40 strikeouts in 41 innings against the toughest competition. He also batted .363 and drove in 17 runs. The Bulldogs had two outfielders and an infielder named to the first team as outfielder Dalton Long, a junior, and Lane Dotson, a freshman, made the team along with infielder Brandon Cehand, a junior first baseman.

Wortham was led by Sessions, a junior who hit .417 and drove in 22 runs, and Lee, a senior who batted .488 with 41 hits and 23 RBI. Wortham’s Cole Jendel, a sophomore who went 7-5, was named as one of three first-team pitchers and Wortham outfielders Brandon Campbell, a senior who batted .404, and Kyle Goerner, a junior, were also named to the first team. Wortham’s Witty Busby, a junior infielder, was selected to the first-team infield. Hubbard’s Hudson Alderman was named the first-team catcher.


District 11-1A All-District Baseball Team

MVP — Mark Martinez, Sr., Dawson

Offensive MVP — Louis Lachney, Sr., Dawson, De’Nerian Thomas, Sr., Mart, Devin Sessions, Jr., Wortham

Defensive MVP — Chris Lee, Sr. Wortham and Jared Gray, So., Dawson

Newcomer of the Year — Tyler Farley, Fr. ,Axtell

Pitcher —  Trent Underwood, Jr., Dawson

Coach of the Year — Bo Moore, Dawson




Cole Jendel, So., Wortham

Seth Toter, Sr., Mart

Justin Strancher, Sr., Axtell


Hudson Alderman, Jr., Hubbard

M.D. Tucker, Sr., Axtell


Tanner Pope, Jr. Abbott

Brandon Cehand, Jr., Dawson

Lane Cobbs, Sr., Mart

Witty Busby, Jr., Wortham


Brandon Campbell, Sr., Wortham

Lane Dotson, Fr., Dawson

Dalton Long, Jr., Dawson

Lucas Helleck, Sr., Axtell

Kyle Goerner, Jr., Wortham


Brandon Urbanovsky, So., Abbott


Jesse Rutledge, Sr., Axtell



Ty Graves, So., Hubbard

Jacob Kyle, Sr., Mart

Cade Ramsey, Fr., Abbott


Jonathan Henden, Jr., Mart

Trent Williams, Fr., Wortham

Garrett Wilson, Jr., Axtell

Logan McClinton, Jr., Hubbard


Bryan Scott, So. Mart


Austin Zamzon, So., Abbott

Jake Strother, Sr., Dawson

Jarrod Moorefild, Sr., Axtell

Walker Love, Jr., Mart

Haven Proulx, Sr., Wortham


Casen Martin, Jr., Hubbard


Angus Worcester, Jr., Wortham

Honorable mention


Mason Burleson, So.


Trey Henderson, Jr.

Josh Freeman, Jr.


Jordan Lansford, Fr.