Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

June 5, 2014

GC Softball: Hubbard shines on 11-1A All-District team

From Staff Reports

Corsicana — There might be an argument, but it wouldn't last very long, that the District 11-1A softball conference wasn't the best and most competitive Class 1A district in the state of Texas.

Simply put, 11-1A was loaded from the top to bottom and the two teams at the top were as good as just about anyone in the state.

It took forever for the district to release its All-District softball team because Hubbard's Lady Jaguars marched all the way to the state tournament, and the Lady Jags had to beat district rival Bosqueville in a gritty and memorable best of three series to win the Region II-1A title.

That's why the players who were honored by making the All-District softball team earned every spot.

Hubbard were well represented on the team with third baseman third baseman Kate Saucke, pitcher Olivia Curtis and catcher Amy Anz all winning superlative honors.

Saucke, who hit .580 with a dozen doubles, six triples, a homer and 44 RBI's, was named the MVP of the district along with Bosqueville's Lizzie Donaldson.

Curtis, who went 24-4-1 with a 1.33 ERA while hitting

.442, was the district's Defensive Player of the Year, and Anz, who batted .490 with 35 RBI, was the 11-1A Catcher of the Year.

Hubbard's Nakaila Banks was named to the first-team as an outfielder and freshman Shayla Parks, who had never played softball before this season, was named to the second-team as an infielder.

Hubbard's Megan Walter, Hailey Davidson and Jamie Goodpaster were on the honorable mention list. Saucke, Anz, Curtis, Walter, Shayla Parks, Jasmine Parks, Sydney Lane, Akayla Washington, Aaliyah Brown and Callie Vardeman earned first-team Academic All-District honors. Banks, Davidson,  Goodpaster, Ciara DelaCruz and McKenna Moore were on the Academic second-team.

Dawson freshman Caitlin Prince, who was the ace of the Lady Bulldogs staff, was named a Newcomer of the Year.

Dawson catcher Demi Dotson and shortstop Kaylee Martinez both earned first-team honors.

Dawson's Stormi Matthews and Jalyn Miller were named to the second-team. Wortham junior Elisha Libhart was named to the second team. Wortham's Allison Nix, Erin Ray, Larissa Rivera and  Sara Sessions made the honorable mention list.

Wortham's Ray and Sessions were named to the Academic first-team along with Alyvia Calame, Kendle Rhodes, Brooke Salisbury and Kate Vogel. Libhart, Nix, Rivera and Jessica Buchanan, Josey Scruggs and Sarah Trantham were on the Academic second-team.