Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

December 30, 2012

All Golden Circle: Football and Volleyball

By Todd Wills
Corsicana Daily Sun

Corsicana — So far this school year, when it comes to athletics, it’s been the year of the Eagle, and the Polar Bear too.

Just check out today’s All-Golden Football team which is dominated by the area’s two best teams this season, the Mildred Eagles and the Frost Polar Bears.

The Eagles made history for a second straight season, this time playing in a football state championship game for the first time in school history. Mildred became the first Navarro County football team to play for a state title since the 1997 Corsicana Tigers.

The Del Thrash Player of the Year that season? Bethel Johnson, who won the award in a year where there were Tiger standouts everywhere. Johnson of course went on to star for Texas A&M and play in two Super Bowls for the New England Patriots.

So it wasn’t easy this year with so many standout Eagles. After much consternation, we selected Mildred senior Nic Shimonek, who quarterbacked the Eagles to 34 wins in three seasons and who finished his career with a Golden Circle-record 8,215 passing yards. Shimonek will continue his career at Iowa.

Shimonek’s teammate Draylon Sterling was a worthy candidate after narrowly missing out on 2,000 rushing yards and earning all-state honors as a defensive back.

Frost had four players earn superlative honors, topped by running back/linebacker Danial Steels, whose inspirational play in the postseason helped the Polar Bears win a school-record three playoff games and make the regional finals.

On the volleyball side, Mildred senior Olivia Farmer picked up where she left off last year when she was one of three Golden Circle Female Athletes of the Year.

Farmer, our 2012 Volleyball player of the Year, helped the Lady Eagles volleyball team finish with their first winning record and make the playoffs for the first time.

Today’s Daily Sun begins a six-month stretch of All-Golden Circle teams. Who will break Mildred and Frost’s hold on the top honors?

We all look forward to finding out. Happy New Year!