Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

May 12, 2013

GC Track Roundup: Gilfillan lone area athlete to medal

From Staff Reports

Corsicana — Prior to the UIL state track meet, Noah Gilfillan was expected to be the Golden Circle’s best chance for a medal. He didn’t disappoint.

The Corsicana sophomore won the silver medal in the Class 4A pole vault, missing gold on a jump off. Both he and Garrett Larson of Brenham cleared 15-6 on their first attempts, setting the bar for the rest of the field.

It was on the only medal won by a Golden Circle athlete during the 2013 state meet held at the University of Texas’ Mike A. Myers Track and Soccer Stadium in Austin Friday and Saturday.

In other late Friday and Saturday action, Dawson's Courtney Warren was seventh in the Class 1A-DI 300-meter hurdles Saturday with a time of 48.32. Kami Norton of Albany won with a time of 43.71, unofficially a Class 1A-DI record. Norton won by almost three seconds.

The Kerens girls 800-meter relay team finished eighth in the Class 1A-DI girls race Saturday. The team of Marqueshia Kelly, Kiara Lindsey, Emanualla Armant and Breanna Wells clocked a 1:47.61. Dallas Gateway won the event with a 1:41.99, unofficially a new 1A state record.

On Friday, in the 2A boys discus, Rice’s Ragan Henderson placed sixth with a throw of 153-11. Alan Zapalac of Wallis Brazos won with a 180-7.

Frost finished fourth in the girls 1A-DII 4 x 400 meter relay. The Lady Bears teams of Diana Rios, Hillaree Schwartz, Kaycee Bowling and Jasmyn Steels ran a 4:19.36. Happy won with a 4:13.94.

The Lady Bears’ sprint relay team finished eighth with a time of 54.05. Rotan won the event with a 51.53.

In the boys 1A-DII 100 meters, Frost's Danial Steels was fifth with a time of 11:46. Kameron Buchanan of Turkey Valley won with an 11.22.

Jasmyn Steels was seventh in the girls 1A-DII 100 meters. The freshman clocked a 13.08. LaKeydra Mosley of Calvert won in 12.39.

Frost's Diana Rios finished sixth in the Class 1A-DII 800-meter run with a time of 2:31.71. Cheyenne Shed of Dime Box won with a time of 2:23.89.