Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas


May 27, 2014

GC Baseball 23-2A All-District Team: BG lands 3 on first-team

Corsicana — Teague and Riesel dominated the District 23-2A All-District baseball team, but Blooming Grove had three players named to the first-team and Rice landed a pair on the first-team.

The Lions, who made the playoffs, had the best battery in the district and both Dalton Blake, who was the ace of the BG staff, and catcher Keller Southard earned first-team honors.

Blake hit .432, scored 30 runs and drove in 31 runs, and Southard batted .344 and drove in 15 runs while playing outstanding defense behind the plate.

Outfielder Brody Owens was also named to the first team. He hit .354, scored 24 runs and drove in 12 runs.

All three of Blooming Grove's first-team players are sophomore and the future looks bright for Matt Anderson's team.

Rice third baseman Max Mena, who hit .400, and infielder Conner Roberts, who made the team as the utility player, were both first-team selections, and Rice's Cole Metcalfe was the utility player on the second team.

Roberts and Metcalfe are just sophomores and Mena is a junior.

Blooming Grove also had three players make the second team.

Outfielder Jarod Obenour, another sophomore, sophomore first baseman Dylan Nors and shortstop Daniel Pelzel, a senior, were named to the second-team.

Mildred had four players make the second team.

Pitcher Justin Jenkins and catcher Will Burnham, who are both sophomores, led the way. Sophomore first baseman Dylan Nors, and sophomore outfielder Jordan Harvell were second team selections along with senior DH Cole Waller.

District 23-2A All-District Baseball Team


Austin Skinner, Jr. Teague

Offensive MVP

Aaron Mitchell, Jr. Teague

Defensive MVP

Thomas Morehouse, Jr. Riesel

Pitcher of the Year

Jase Embry, So. Riesel

Newcomer of the Year

Brooks Embry, Fr. Riesel

Coach of the Year

Kyle Killman, Teague

First team


Dalton Blake, Jr., Blooming Grove

Colby Brooks, So., Teague


Keller Southard, Jr., Blooming Grove

First Base

Matthew Richter, Fr. Riesel


Max Mena, Jr., Rice

Dustin West, Sr., Teague

Robbie West, Jr. Teague

Bryce Pauler, So., Buffalo


Brody Owens, So., Blooming Grove

J.T. Jones, Jr., Teague

Lieghton Tindell, Fr., Riesel


Conner Roberts, So., Rice


Ryan Mitchell, So., Teague

Second Team


Justin Jenkins, So., Mildred

Kent Bonner, So., Teague

Kyrell Miller, Jr., Buffalo


Will Burnham, So., Mildred

First Base

Dylan Nors, So., Blooming Grove


Daniel Pelzel, Sr., Blooming Grove

Bryce Ryder, Fr. Buffalo


Jarod Obenour, So. Blooming Grove

Jordan Harvell, So., Mildred

Lee Krumnow, Jr., Riesel

Kyle Reed, Sr., Buffalo


Cole Metcalfe, So., Rice


Clay Weller, Sr., Mildred

Honorable Mention

Mildred: Collin Linex, Sr., Connor Hill, Sr.,

Blooming Grove:Logan Peterson, So., Tyler Eliis, Jr., Jacob Williams, Sr., Colton Barrham, Jr. Rice: Garrett Weaver, Justin Smith, Jack Zellar, Reece Whitt

Text Only
  • 7-30-14 Davis.jpg Former Cowboy Keith Davis delivers motivational speech

    Keith Davis believes in dreams.
    He lived his.
    That was one of the messages Davis, a former Dallas Cowboys safety, delivered to a standing-room-only crowd of youngsters Tuesday at the Boys & Girls Club, where he spoke with enthusiasm and energy about life inside and outside of the NFL.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-30 web Wortham TTBA picture.jpg TTBB: Wortham takes second at state tournament

    The Wortham Bulldogs made an impressive run at the Texas Teenage Baseball Association High School Eligible State Tournament in Buffalo and took second in the state.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-29-14 tiger sharks.jpg Tiger Sharks make splash at state meet

    There are leaps and bounds, and then there's what the Corsicana YMCA Tiger Sharks did over the weekend at the Lone Star state swimming meet in Frisco.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • 7-27 Shimonek all-star.jpg Mildred's Shimonek transferring from Iowa, will walk on at Texas Tech

    Former Mildred quarterback and Golden Circle Del Thrash Player of the Year Nic Shimonek is leaving the University of Iowa after one red-shirt year and transferring to Texas Tech because of Iowa's pro-style offense.

    July 28, 2014 2 Photos

  • RON MORGAN.jpg Morgan; Remembering House and a better era

    The Cowboys started training camp the same week that Robert Newhouse died.
    In a way, that’s very unfortunate for Jerry. Thinking back to the “Human Bowling Ball” and the teams of that era might lead to the inevitable comparisons to today’s product on the field.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • weights.jpg GC Football: Blooming Grove's Williams expects to win

    His father was a head coach for years at Pecos High and his brother-in-law is the head football coach at DeSoto, but Lawrence Williams Jr., a man who loves coaching football, never had any ideas about being the head man.
    “I love coaching,'' said Williams as he sat at his desk in Blooming Grove, where he became the Lions' head coach this summer. “I just never thought about being the head coach and I never applied to be a head coach. With this job I can still coach.''

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kevin Reese mug.jpg Outdoors: Kevin Reese: Summer time means summer tracking

    With only two months before opening day of archery season you should already have your bow maintenance complete, be shooting daily and chomping at the bit for our favorite day to arrive!
    Let’s face it, few animals turn our rotors like whitetail deer.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • All-State Baseball: Corsicana's Harlan and Wolver honored on TSWA/Collin Street Bakery 4A All-State Baseball team

    Corsicana junior Brady Harlan and sophomore Layton Wolver were honored on the Texas Sports Writers Association/Collin Street Bakery Class 4A All-State Baseball team that was announced Tuesday night.

    July 22, 2014

  • 7-23-14 Kayana.jpg Gymnastics: Kaylana Dickson celebrates national title with fans and her uncle David Hawthorne

    Kaylana Dickson got the name Bebop on her way to winning a national title in gymnastics this summer, and boy did it catch fire.
    Kaylana, a Corsicana native, picked up fans from all over the country and many bought Bebop T-shirts to help pay her expenses to Spokane, Wa., where she won the 8-and-under title in the double-mini trampoline event and finished third in floor exercise.
    More than 100 of her friends, family members and fans showed up at the Corsicana YMCA on Saturday to celebrate the national title and be on hand for a drawing for an autographed New Orleans Saints football jersey from David Hawthorne, a star defensive lineman for the Saints and Kaylana's uncle

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • All-State Baseball: TSWA/Collin Street Bakery All-State 3A baseball team is announced

    The Texas Sports Writers Association/Collin Street Bakery Class 3A All-State Baseball Team was announced Tuesday.


    July 22, 2014