Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas


February 21, 2013

CHS Football: Jordan named Class 4A All-State first team

Guard Jones and defensive lineman Hall honorable mention

Corsicana — From Staff

and Wire Reports

Corsicana guard Jeffery Jordan was named first team offense on the 62nd Annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 4A All-State Football Team.

Guard Chris Jones and defensive lineman Jarrett Hall were given honorable mention.

Denton Guyer quarterback Jerrod Heard was the offensive player of the year.

The 6-foot-2, 180-pound Heard threw for 2,090 yards and 17 touchdowns in leading Guyer to the Division I state title. Heard, who signed with the University of Texas, also rushed for 2,138 yards and 35 touchdowns.

Linemen Daeshon Hall of Lancaster and Tyus Bowser of Tyler John Tyler shared defensive player of the year honors.

The 6-6, 230-pound Hall had 24 tackles for losses and 16 sacks, and the 6-3, 230-pound Bowser had 24 sacks and 14 quarterback pressures.


See the complete 62nd Annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 4A All-State Football Team in the Weekend Edition of the Corsicana Daily Sun and online at

GC Football: Collin Street Bakery/TSWA Class 4A All-State Team



Guards - Tyler Preston, Georgetown, 6-2, 270, jr. and Jeff Jordan, Corsicana, 6-6, 340,  sr.

Tackles - Patrick Morris, Denton Guyer, 6-3, 265, sr and  Andrew Billings, Waco, 6-1, 305,  sr.

Center - William Barns, Highland Park, 6-2, 260, sr.

Tight end - Derrick Griffin, Rosenberg Terry, 6-6, 214, sr.

Spit ends - Fred Ross, Tyler John Tyler, 6-2, 185, sr. and  Marcell Ateman, Wylie East, 6-5, 205, sr.

Athlete - Jerrod Heard, Denton Guyer, 6-2, 180, jr.

Quarterback - Greg Ward, Tyler John Tyler, 5-11, 165, sr.

Running backs - James White, Pearland Dawson, 6-1, 200, sr.;  Ke'aun Kinner, Little Elm, 5-9, 180, sr.; and  Jabari Anderson, Wylie East, 5-8, 185, sr.

Place-kicker - Josh Sparkman, Wolfforth Frenship, 6-0, 175, sr.

Offensive player of the year: Jerrod Heard, Denton Guyer, 6-2, 180, jr.


Linemen - Daeshon Hall, Lancaster, 6-6, 230, sr.; Junel Barnes, Georgetown, 6-1, 212, sr.;  K.J. Smith, Frisco Centennial, 6-2, 250, sr.; and (tie)  Deon Hollins, Fort Bend Marshall, 6-2, 235, sr.; Justin Manning, Dallas Kimball, 6-2, 275, sr.; and Tyus Bowser, Tyler John Tyler, 6-3, 230, sr.

Linebackers - Reggie Chevis, Houston Sharpstown, 6-2, 245, sr.;  Stephen Smith, Wolfforth Frenship, 5-11, 220, sr.;  Jackson Paine, Cedar Park, 6-0 195,  sr.; and  Nick Uretsky, San Antonio Alamo Heights, 6-1, 210, sr.

Backs - Nick Harvey, Lancaster, 5-11, 180, jr.;  Ranthony Texada, Frisco Centennial, 5-10, 160, 5-10, 160, sr.; (tie)  Cade Davis, Wolfforth Frenship, 5-11, 175, sr.;  Brandon Boone, Georgetown, 6-3, 215, sr.; and Jordan Vise, Leander Rouse, 6-0, 185, sr.

Punter -Josh Stevens, EP Irvin, 6-2, 205, jr.

Kick returner -Michael Blanco, Dallas South Oak Cliff, 5-11, 165, sr.

Defensive player of the year: (tie) Daeshon Hall, Lancaster, 6-6, 230, sr. and Tyus Bowser, Tyler John Tyler, 6-3, 230, sr.

Coach of the year: Joe Willis, Cedar Park

Text Only