Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

June 4, 2013

GC Baseball: Shimonek named POY in District 23-2A

From Staff Reports
Corsicana Daily Sun

Corsicana — MIldred’s Nic Shimonek took care of one last piece of business before heading to Iowa to play football. He won the District 23-2A baseball player of the year award, which was announced this week.

    No one is shocked that Shimonek, one of the most talented and versatile athletes in this part of Texas, was voted the best player in the district. He hit .514 and had a

.607 on-base-percentage and a .903 slugging percentage. Shimonek drove in 27 runs and scored 20 runs and led the Eagles, who had five players named to the all-district first team.

     Justin Jenkins, a freshman, was a unanimous choice as a first-team pitcher, and freshman Will Burnham, who hit .333, stole 12 bases and scored 20 runs, was named to the first-team outfield as Mildred made a huge statement with its young players. Jenkins went 5-4 with three saves and had a 2.88 ERA while striking out 32 batters in 44 2/3 innings to earn the respect from the district. Mildred’s Clay Walker, a junior who hit .368 with 13 RBIs, was named the first-team designated hitter, and Mildred catcher  Allan Knight, a junior, and Jase Butler, a junior, were first-team selections. Butler was the first-team utility player.

Blooming Grove freshman Keller Southard was named the district’s top defensive player, an award he shared with two others, and the Lions landed four on the first-team. Dalton Blake, a sophomore who was the ace of the staff and also batted .427 and drove in 29 runs, was a first-team pitcher. Jared Obenour, a freshman who hit .368, and Brody Owens, a freshman who hit .339, were both named to the first-team outfield, and Shane Battenfield, a senior, was named to the first-team infield. Rice’s Ragan Henderson, a senior, was also voted as one of three the defensive players of the year.

District 23-2A All-District Baseball Team

MVP — Nic Shimonek, Sr., Mildred

Offensive POY — Aaron Mitchell, So., Teague

Defensive POY — Keller Southard, Fr. Blooming Grove; Ragan Henderson, Sr., Rice; Even Goodwin, Sr., Teague

Newcomer of the Year — Kyle Miller, So., Buffalo

Pitcher OY— Austin Skinner, So., Teague



Dalton Blake, So., Blooming Grove

Justin Jenkins, Fr., Mildred

Jase Embry, Fr., Riesel


Allan Knight, Jr., Mildred

First base

Kyle Reed, Jr.,Buffalo


Shane Battenfield, Sr. Blooming Grove

Bryce Pauler, Fr., Buffalo

Thomas Moorehouse, So. Riesel

Lane Scruggs, Sr. Teague


Will Burnham, Fr., Mildred

Jared Obenour, Fr., Blooming Grove

Brody Owens, Fr., Blooming Grove

Seth Strader, Sr., Teague


Jase Butler, Jr., Mildred


Clay Walker, Jr., Mildred



Daniel Pelzel, Jr., Blooming Grove

Connor Hill, Jr., Mildred

Logan Freeman, Fr. Buffalo

First Base

Jacob Conger, Jr., Blooming Grove

Logan Wornat, Sr., Riesel


Codie Pair, Sr., Rice

Jacob Williams, Jr., Blooming Grove

Dustin West, Jr., Teague


Logan Jones, Jr., Buffalo


Junior Pena, Sr., Rice

Curt Evans, Sr., Riesel

Jordan Maggard, Sr., Teague

Trent Martin, Jr., Buffalo


Phillip Moore, Sr., Marlin


Will Graham, Sr., Teague

Honorable Mention

Blooming Grove

Travis Whiteside

Tyler Ellis


Colby Pair


Eric Hughes