Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas

December 11, 2013

CHS Football: Tigers land six spots on District 16-4A all-district football first teams

From Staff Reports
Associated Press

Corsicana — Corsicana’s Tigers had a tough-luck season, losing several close games, but the Tigers were recognized when the District 16-4A all-district football team was released.

Kishawn Kelley, a freshman who is the future quarterback at Corsican, was voted the Co-Defensive Newcomer of the Year and the Tigers landed five players and six positions on the District 16-4A first teams, including Tiano McDonald, who was voted to the first-team offense as a tight end, and the first-team defense as a defensive tackle.

The Tigers placed five players on the offensive first team, including Donavan Fields, who also played both ways and was on of the better defensive backs in the Golden Circle.

Fields, who took over the main running back duties after sophomore Tray Owens was injured in the district opener against Tyler John Tyler, ran for 808 yards on 130 carries and scored 12 touchdowns with almost all of it coming in the final five games of he season.

Corsicana’s offense was unstoppable at times and two linemen — seniors Chris Jones and Adolfo Monreal — and McDonald were named to the first team. Fullback Quinton Emmerson, a sophomore, was also named to the first team.

Devontay Bell, Corsicana’s electric quarterback, was named to the offensive second team as a QB and also made the second tam as a kick return specialist.

Bell, who picked up Corsicana’s running game after Owens’ injury, ran for 1,482 yards and 13 touchdowns and threw for more than 600 yards. He played both ways a lockdown defensive back.

Owens, who broke the Corsicana single-game rushing record with a 467-yard night in a 77-65 loss to Sulphur Springs, was not named to the team, which seems an injustice since Owens had such a remarkable — albeit — short season.

He was injured on the second play of the district opener, which made him all but ineligible to make the 16-4A team, but in just four games Owens rushed for 1,119 yards on 133 carries (8.41 yards per carry) and eight touchdowns.

Owens is  just a sophomore and will no doubt be on everyone’s preseason players to watch list next summer.

Corsicana placed two offensive linemen — seniors Cesar Campazano and Donovan Hailey — on the offensive second-team and two Tigers were named to the defensive second team— defensive lineman Darius Watson, a junior, and senior linebacker Xaviar Bradley.

Here’s a look at the 16-4A first teams

MVP: Pat Mahomes, Sr., Whitehouse; Defensive MVP: Reggie Long, Sr. Whitehouse; Offensive MVP: Geo McCollister, Jr., John Tyler; Off Newcomer of the Year: Shemar Smith So., Whitehouse; Co-Def Newcomer of the Year: Kishawn Kelley. Fr., Corsicana; Co-Def Newcomer of the Year: Braylon Jones, So., John Tyler; Coaching Staff of the Year: Whitehouse


First Team

QB: Carter McCowan, Jr., Jacksonville.

RB: Donovan Fields, Sr., Corsicana; Aaron Jackson, Jr. Lindale; Coronado Tolbert, Jr., Nacogdoches; FB: Quinton Emmerson, So., Corsicana; TE: Tiano McDonald, Sr., Corsicana; WR: Coleman Patterson, Sr., Whitehouse; Claude Franklin, Sr., Jacksonville; Jake Parker, Sr., Whitehouse; Nick Cain, Jr., John Tyler; Sam Morgan, Jr., Nacogdoches; C: Jacob Bragg, Sr., Nacogdoches; OG: Chris Jones, Sr., Corsicana; OT: Adolfo Monreal, Sr., Corsicana; Eduardo Camacho, Sr., Nacogdoches; OT: Malik Gilder, Sr., Nacogdoches; K: Rudy Fuentes, Jr., Nacogdoches; Return specialist: Brandon Jones, So., Nacogdoches.



DT: Jadarrius Ervin, Sr., Nacogdoches

DT: Kostin Wallace, Sr., Whitehouse

DT: Tiano McDonald, Sr., Corsicana; Michael Stiles, Sr., Lindale; DE: Kaleb Shackleford, Sr., Whitehouse; DE: Jacorey Whitaker, Sr., Nacogdoches; ILB: Brian Scott, Sr., Nacogdoches; ILB: Savian Lacy, Sr., Whitehouse; OLB: Joseph Klein, Sr., Whitehouse; Chris Reese, Sr., Whitehouse; Jessie Graham, Jr., Nacogdoches; CB: Issac Warren, Jr., John Tyler; CB: Isaiah Burton, Sr., Whitehouse; S: Nate Brooks, Jr., Whitehouse; S: Brandon Jones, So., Nacogdoches; Punter: Luis Duran, Jr., John Tyler.