Corsicana Daily Sun, Corsicana, Texas


March 1, 2011

Mildred sophomore wins district MVP

Corsicana — Mildred sophomore Nic Shimonek was named his district's MVP after a season in which the Eagles qualified for the playoffs for the first time in nine years.

Shimonek was a 3-point specialist that helped the Eagles force a three-way tie with Malakoff and Teague for the district title.

Coach of the Year honors were shared by those coaches — DeArtis Nickerson from Malakoff, Marvin Childs from Teague and Eagles coach Walker Nichols.

The Eagles received the third-place seed in 14-2A and beat Life School Oak Cliff in the bi-district round in overtime. They fell in the area round to Italy on Friday.

Freshman point guard Daniel Pelzel from Blooming Grove was named the district's Newcomer of the Year. Offensive MVP honors went to Terry Shamlin of Malakoff and Defensive MVP honors went to T.J. Tadlock, from Leon.

Mildred senior Kevin Dozier, senior Hayden Pritchett and junior Daniel Folsom were all named first team all-district along with Blooming Grove senior Quindell Johnson.

Lions senior Devante Starling was named to the second team, along with Mildred's Cameron Burnham.

All-District 14-2A

MVP — Nic Shimonek, So., Mildred

Offensive MVP — Terry Shamlin, Sr., Malakoff

Defensive MVP — T.J. Tadlock, Sr., Leon

Newcomer of the Year — Daniel Pelzel, Fr., Bl. Grove

Coaches of the Year — DeArtis Nickerson, Malakoff; Walker Nichols, Mildred; Marvin Childs, Teague

First Team — Quindell Johnson, Sr., Blooming Grove; Saxton Sims, Sr., Buffalo; Addison Scott, Sr., Eustace; Braden Strickland, Sr., Eustace; Vince Hale, Jr., Leon; Truman Dowell, Sr., Malakoff; Marquis Dowell, Sr., Malakoff; Hayden Pritchett, Sr., Mildred; Kevin Dozier, Sr., Mildred; Daniel Folsom, Jr., Mildred; Ryan Lawrence, Sr., Teague; Jake McClain, Sr., Teague; Antonio Garcia, Jr., Teague

Second Team — Devante Starling, Sr., Blooming Grove; Travis Cunningham, So., Buffalo; Tate Hartley, So., Buffalo; Chad Barina, Sr., Eustace; Jacob McCarter, Jr., Eustace; Cason McCune, Sr., Leon; Garrett Airheart, Jr., Malakoff; Cameron Burnham, Jr., Mildred; Daryl Brooks, So., Teague; Landon Lancaster, Jr., Teague;

Text Only