Eligible Texas voters are encouraged to take advantage of early voting Monday, April 19 through Tuesday, April 27 at the Navarro County Courthouse Annex, 601 N. 13th St. in Corsicana. Navarro County’s ballot will feature candidates for local office and Congressional District 6.

Early voting will be from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, April 19 through 23; 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturday, April 24; 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. Sunday, April 25; and 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Monday and Tuesday, April 26 and 27.

The deadline to apply for a ballot by mail is Tuesday, April 20. Mail-in ballots must be returned by 7 p.m. on election day, Saturday, May 1.

On the ballot for the City of Corsicana is a contested race for Councilman Pct. 3 against incumbent Chris Woolsey and challenger Neal Green, Jr.

Incumbents, Mayor Don Denbow, Councilman Jeffrey G. Smith, Pct. 4, Municipal Judge Cody Beauchamp, and City Attorney Kerri Anderson Donica, filed for re-election unopposed.

Other cities participating in the election are Dawson, Eureka, Rice, Kerens and Goodlow.

On the ballot for Dawson are Matthew Machner, Barbara Leggett Adler, and Aaron Hogue for Councilmember. Voters will also vote for or against Proposition A regarding bonds for street and related drainage improvements and taxes to pay the principal and interest

Eureka: Pamela J. Mieth and Tammy Cantrell for Mayor and Debra Childress and Mike Wisdom for Councilmembers

Rice: J. Nicole Jackson and Ratchnee France for Mayor; Vickie Young, Robby Valdez, Lennie Andrews Deagen, and Sheila Teague for Alderman

Kerens: Mayor Jeffrey Saunders; Bryant Jennings, Darren Lane, and Cameron Mitchell for Alderman

Goodlow: Nantambu Kambon and Wayne Owen for Mayor; Earnest Betts, Eric Littleton, and Jacklyn Copeland for Alderman.

Candidates for Frost, Blooming Grove, and Fairfield Independent School Districts are:

Frost ISD: Bryan Anderson, David “Moose” Williams, Brian Caton, and James Cagle

Blooming Grove ISD: Mary Spence, Lee Grounds, Micah Haden, T.C. Lawhon, Shane Richards, and

Danika Watson

Fairfield ISD: Kirby Capps Flandry, Michael Wren, and Josh Carlson

The special election for Texas’ Sixth Congressional District features 23 candidates representing the Republican, Democratic, Libertarian and Independent parties, including:

Michael Ballantine (R), Brian Harrison (R), Brian K. Stephenson (D), Dan Rodimer (R), Travis Rodermund (R), Tammy Allison (D), Shawn Lassiter (D), Susan Wright (R), Mike Egan (R), Jenny Garcia Sharon (R), John Anthony Castro (R), Patrick Moses (D), Sery Kim (R), Matt Hinterlong (D), Chris Suprun (D), Lydia Bean (D), Jana Lynne Sanchez (D), Jake Ellzey (R), Michael Wood (R), Adrian Mizher (I), Daryl J. Eddings Sr. (D), Phil Gray (L), and Manuel Richard Salazar III (D

On election day, May 1, residents may vote at any Navarro County polling place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

To locate a polling place, or for more information, visit the Navarro County Elections Department online at or call 903-875-3330.

Voters are reminded to bring one of the seven forms of approved photo ID:

• Texas Driver License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety

• Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS

• Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS

• Texas Handgun License issued by DPS

• United States Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph

• United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph

• United States Passport (book or card)

Voters are also asked to follow the Secretary of State’s recommended health care protocols to help ensure the safety of the public, election office personnel, polling place workers, and poll watchers. Read the complete guide online at

To learn more about voting in Texas, call 1-800-252-VOTE or visit

Trending Video

Recommended for you