Library book list.jpg

If I have said this before, I’m sorry, but this is the truth: Some of the best authors today are writing for teens? “Why?” you may ask. I will tell you. Teens are willing to believe in things. Here are some books about hate, true love, justice, truth and fairy tales.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Angie Thomas’s searing debut about an ordinary girl in extraordinary circumstances addresses issues of racism and police violence with intelligence, heart, and unflinching honesty.

Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak

Markus Zusak makes his long-awaited return with a profoundly heartfelt and inventive story of a young life caught in the current-of risking everything he has to save it.

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Dear Evan Hansen by Val Emmich

A simple lie leads to complicated truths in this big-hearted coming-of-age story of grief, authenticity and the struggle to belong in an age of instant connectivity and profound isolation.

The Lady’s Guide To Petticoats and Piracy by Mackenzi Lee

In this highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, Felicity Montague must use all her womanly wits and wiles to achieve her dreams of becoming a doctor—even if she has to scheme her way across Europe to do it.

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

Told in short, fierce staccato narrative verse, Long Way Down is a fast and furious, dazzlingly brilliant look at teenage gun violence, as could only be told by Jason Reynolds.

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

Albert delivers a fierce, captivating contemporary fantasy about a 17-year-old girl who must venture into the world behind a pitch-dark, cult-classic collection of fairy tales to save her mother.