It was a competitive season of volleyball for Golden Circle teams, especially the teams in the District 18-3A race, where Mildred had a dramatic push at the end of the season to earn a spot in the 3A playoffs.

Rice and Blooming Grove had competitive teams as well, and all three schools saw players earn postseason honors when the District 18-3A All-District team was announced.

Mildred led the way and two members of the Lady Eagles earned superlatives.

Lilly Hanna, a senior who was a force at the net all year, was named the 18-3A Blocker of the Year, and senior Abby Huitt, who has been at the heart of the Mildred program for four years, was named the 18-3A Setter of the Year.

Hanna led the Lady Eagles with 324 kills and 97 blocks, and she also had 101 digs this season.

Huitt, who does a little of everything and always seems to be in the middle of every play on the court, put the finishing touches ona  brilliant four-year career at Mildred by earning the Setter of the Year award.

Huitt handed out an impressive 513 assists and led the defense with 308 digs, and led the Lady Eagles at the service line with a 95.74 serving average.

Mildred libero Nikki Turner, a senior, was named to the 18-3A first-team. She had 402 digs and a 662 serve-receive rating. Mildred sophomore Kenli Dalton and Mildred freshman Amy Adamson were named to the second-team.

Rice’s Jesseka De La Rosa and Olivia Smith were named to the 18-3A second-team. Both are seniors and led the Lady Bulldogs all year.

Kylee Ivey, a senior from Blooming Grove, led the Lady Lions and earned second-team honors.

Mildred’s Baily Burks and Landrey Fleming were on the Honorable Mention list.

Rice’s’ Genesis Mendez, Jonisa Espinosa, Hannah Harwell, Kelly Montgomery and Lexi Davis were on the Honorable Mention list, and Blooming Grove’s Claire Kirk, Madison Peterson, Tory Cox and Mykayla Adkins were on the district’s Honorable Mention list.

Recommended for you