5-4 Frost HS 2013 team picture.jpg

Courtesy photo The Frost Polar Bears won the Gordon Wood Texas High School Football Hall of Fame award.

The 2012 season was truly a remarkable one for the Frost Polar Bears. For a team that hadn’t had a playoff appearance in the past 11 years, ending their season with a 12-2 record was a huge accomplishment that took overcoming many obstacles to achieve. The team led by head coach Eric Blenden was able to make it all the way to the state quarterfinals.

“The town and the students had to build back a program from basically nothing to be a very competitive team,” Blenden said.

Five years ago, the team wasn’t able to finish the season due to injuries and grades, Blenden said. After that came a 1-10 season, followed by going 3-7, 3-7, and 5-5, before their incredible run to the state quarterfinals.

“The kids had to learn how to not only win, but to have the mental toughness to finish a season, a game, and a quarter of football,” Blenden said.

Making a playoff run to the state quarterfinals in Texas is a feat in and of itself. But the Polar Bears ending their season with a 12-2 record is a true accomplishment for a team that had to overcome many challenges that had held them back in the past.

Qualities like this are exactly what the Gordon Wood Award stands for.

“Getting this award just proves to the kids, faculty and the community of Frost that hard work and dedication pays off in the end,” Blenden said.

Former Ennis coach Sam Harrell won the Tom Landry Award.

— Submitted by the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame

Texas High School Football Hall of Fame

Class of 2013


Joe Boring, Dallas Sunset High School, Coach - Byron Rhome

1960s: Eddie Foster, Monahans High School,  Coach - Doug Ethridge

1970s: Donnie Little, Dickinson High School, Coach – Teddy Gray

1980s: William Thomas, Amarillo Palo Duro High School, Coach – Doug James

1990s: Wes Danaher, Calallen High School, Coach Phil Danaher

2000s: Graham Harrell, Ennis High School, Coach Sam Harrell

Coach: Sam Harrell Reagan County/Ennis High Schools

Special Category: J.P. Bramhall M.D., Bryan/College Station Consolidated High Schools

Recommended for you