Mildred junior linebacker/fullback Donald Knight added Defensive MVP to last year’s Newcomer of the Year award on the recently announced District 14-2A football team.

Eagles sophomore Kevin Barlow (105-831-11) earned Newcomer of the Year recognition as well. Mildred (4-7) finished third in league play and made the postseason for the first time since 2002.

Italy senior Jeremy Brown was named MVP, while Palmer senior Michael Hernandez was tabbed Offensive MVP and Scurry-Rosser senior Phillip Burley Utility Player.

Scurry-Rosser won the district title by beating Italy in the regular-season finale. The Wildcats, Gladiators and Mildred all lost in the first round of the playoffs.

Area players named to the first-team all-district offense from Mildred were Knight (100-777-9) at fullback, junior quarterback Tyler Owen (39-105-676-8 passing, 87-412-7 rushing), junior running back Alex Dugan (48-393-7), junior wide receiver Roy Washington (15-455-7), senior tight end Jeff Price and senior offensive linemen Trent Owen and C.J. Armstrong.

Blooming Grove junior wide receiver Riggin Barham (9-118-1) and senior offensive lineman Rob Southard were also first-team all-district picks for the fifth-place Lions.

Defensively, defensive backs Andrew McGraw (Blooming Grove) and Ryan Jock (Mildred) were tabbed first team. Other first-teamers were Lions sophomore outside linebacker Lee Grounds, and Mildred inside linebacker Jeff Price, defensive end Alex Dugan, punter Tyler Owen and defensive tackles C.J. Armstrong and Trent Owen.

Second-team selections were Blooming Grove junior quarterback Randy Barlow (39-79-593-3), junior running back Andrew McGraw (71-419-3), senior fullback Lucas Brown (90-418-5), sophomore wide receiver Andrew Hoffma (16-279-4), junior wide receiver Michael Ferrell (6-68-1) and junior offensive lineman Josh Barham.

Mildred senior offensive lineman Cory Sivils was named to the second team.

Eagles sophomore defensive back Demarco Thorn and junior defensive end Justin Gordon, and Lions outside linebacker Lucas Brown, senior inside linebacker Sam Adamson, defensive tackle Rob Southard and sophomore Juve Sanchez (kicker and defensive end) were also on the second-team defense.

Honorable mention picks from Blooming Grove were Warren Rodgers, Michael Ferrell, Riggin Barham and Josh Barham, and Bryan Harwell, Justin Wilkinson and Reese Blaschke from Mildred.

Recommended for you