Navarro volleyball

Photo by Keith Speer

Navarro's unbeaten national champion volleyball team.

Navarro completed a perfect season and won the first national volleyball title in the program's history Saturday night in Hutchinson, Kansas by defeating Seward County 3-2 in the championship match of the NJCAA Women's Division I Tournament.

The Bulldogs topped off a 31-0 season with a dramatic victory, winning the final set 19-17 in their closest match of their season.

Navarro, which was the No.1-ranked team in the nation and the top seed in the 16-team tournament, won the first two sets, 32-30 and 25-19 but No.3-seeded Seward came back to win 25-20 and 27-25 to force the fifth set.

The two teams battled into extra points before Navarro won it all 19-17 to complete the perfect season under first-year coach Andy Cavins.

Navarro made its first trip to the national volleyball tournament last year and finished in the top eight. Seward finished fourth in the nation last year.

Jordan Lockwood, a transfer from the University of Houston who joined the Navarro team this season, led the Bulldogs throughout the perfect season and led them again in the three-day tournament in Kansas, where she was named the MVP of the tournament.

Lockwood had 27 kills in the title match. Deja Arnold, who had 14 kills against Seward, and Monica Wood, who finished off 11 kills in the title match, were named to the All-Tournament team along with Emily Witt, who had an amazing 61 assists and 22 digs in the title match.

Arnold, Wood and Witt all returned from last year's team and were at the heart of Navarro's remarkable two-year volleyball run that ended with a wild celebration on the court Saturday night.

Recommended for you