Dawson's Alex Shaw earned 16-A defensive player of the year and Wortham's Trace Shirley earned the district's newcomer of the year award on the list released Saturday.

Shaw, who recorded a .920 fielding percentage at third base, was one of six Dawson Bulldogs on the all-district list, four of whom made first team. Seven Wortham Bulldogs made the list — three on the first team and three on the second team.

Ace and first baseman Dustin Sanders, shortstop Trey Tennison, outfielder Nick Warren and catcher Tyler Kimbriel made first team for Dawson.

For Wortham, pitcher Brandon Lansford, shortstop Jake Jones and utility man Hance Spencer earned first-team honors.

Hubbard center fielder Lance McClain was the only Jaguar to make the first team, and sophomore pitcher Cole Hill made the second team.

Wortham freshman Chris Lee earned second-team honors as a pitcher and junior Chris Perez was named to the second team as an infielder. Sophomore Cooper Warren made the list as an outfielder.

Senior Tyler Greene was Dawson's lone representative on the second team. Hayden Hatfield earned honorable mention all-district.

Dawson (19-8) advanced three rounds deep in the playoffs before losing to district-champion Bosqueville.

Bosqueville fell in the regional semifinals to Blue Ridge (39-0).

Recommended for you